Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This worked well with a few changes of convience. Do not have bread machine, so mixed the heated milk and sugar to about 115 degrees and added the yeast. Allowed that to foam about 10 minutes, then added the melted butter, egg, and combined dry ingredients by hand. Covered the whole thing and allowed to rise several hours then made a few with small sausages. Put the remaining dough in fridge, covered, overnight, and made some more for breakfast the following day. Put remaining dough back in fridge and will make some more and see how the freezing process comes out with these. Thanks for sharing a winning recipe for one of DH's favorite treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Wonderful, easy recipe for Texas style kolaches, my 2 year old won't eat the ones from the donut shop but eats these at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmers Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: Perrin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I was delighted at how well these came together. I will make again now that I know how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe! I've never made any sort of bread before and was surprised at how easy it was. I don't have a bread machine so I mixed the flour and yeast together and then added the warm milk and other ingredients. It came out perfectly! Usually when I use refrigerated dough, the bottoms get too brown or hard. These tasted like I bought them at a bakery! Reminded me of the ones I used to get at Prasek's in Hilje, TX! Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These are great for grab and go breakfasts. I send them with the guys on fly in fishing trips, hunting camps and family camping trips. When all the family is home for holidays I can make these ahead of time and not have to spend all my time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
While stationed in South Texas, I fell in love with sausage kolaches and so did my son. We are now stationed in Japan and were craving a taste from Texas. Excellent recipe tastes just like the ones from the local doughnut shop that we miss so much. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I'm get again another ex-Texan. Great recipe and very easy to follow. I used turkey little smokies to cut some calories and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These were wonderful! When reading the reviews that they were "just like the ones I had in Texas," I was skeptical, but these are indeed very similar to my favorite Austin kolaches. I divided my dough into 18 oblong (2"x4") flattened pieces and let them rise, as directed. Then brushed each with some melted butter, sprinkled with a few pinches of shredded cheddar, added 3 jarred jalapenos (drained well), some more cheese, and a pre-cooked smoked breakfast sausage link. Rolled each up tightly and pinched together the top and ends well, facing them seam side down for baking. If desired, brush each with a little melted butter for the last 5 minutes of baking time. I also prepared them all the night before, brought to room temp in the morning and baked the ones we were to eat that morning as directed on my pizza stone. The rest will keep in the fridge for a couple of days so we can bake them fresh each morning, and we'll freeze whatever we have left. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Im giving this recipe 5 stars so it doesnt affect the rating. But my dough didnt turn out...I think. It was very sticky and gooey. I really want to try these, but I'm not sure if I should use the dough as it is, or start over. I'm sure it's my fault if the dough isnt supposed to be sticky. The ratings for this recipe are all good ones, so I will trust it. The dough is a bit stickier than pizza dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
We had these in Houston several years ago & loved them! I omit the hash browns, but keep everything the same. It is a favorite breakfast in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States