Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I am from Texas and live in California now. I have not found any kolaches around here. *gasp* I made this recipe and they turned out pretty darn good. I didn't add the hash browns, although I am sure it would have been a tasty addition. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Being a Houston Texas girl, I didn't realize that Kolaches were a regional treat. I thought everyone was able to enjoy this delicious breakfast food until I read these reviews. The Kolaches from this recipe taste just as good as the ones from my favorite Kolache shop. We wrap the dough around lil smokies and sometimes cheese stuffed jalapenos. They're the best breakfast or midnight snack that you'll ever find! I don't have a bread machine so I just make them as I would any other yeast bread..they turn out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
This is the best recipe. The kolaches taste exactly like the ones you buy at the bakery. Everyone raved about them. I made them the night before and baked them in the morning. I am going to make them Christmas Eve and send them home with the kids, so they can pop them in the oven Christmas morning and have hot kolaches. Thanks Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
My husband fell in love with Kolaches when we visited Houston -- the kolaches from this recipe are even better. We make them at least one Saturday morning a month. We stuff them with just sausage links (like the sausage rolls at the donut shop, Wranglers cheese & jalapeno sausages are the best -- but spicy!) and cheese (we thought the hashbrowns got a little mushy the first time so we skip them now). They are great for breakfast for the rest of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
Used L'il Beef Smokies and wrapped the dough around as some suggested. Made some with Potatoes O'Brien and some without. All were yummy and very similar to the ones we got in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I am delighted to find this recipe. I bought the hash browns but couldn't get them to stay on the dough, so I just put them back in the freezer. Besides, I never had them in the kolaches back home in Texas. Next time I'll cut the cheese in 'sticks' and wrap the dough around the cheese and sausage. I used the little smokies as some other reviewers suggested and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My whole family thought these were great and my kids are very picky eaters. It was really nice to be able to make these the night before and just pop them in oven in the morning. These are a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
my mom used to make this for me for breakfast when i was younger. now, i'm 16, and i have been looking for this recipe. she used to call it 'bull's eye sandwhich' and would use two pieces of bread sometimes. i think i'm going to make this now, it definitely brings back memories of those days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
They were very good. I did not use frozen hash brown instead I used the hash brown package from the deli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I too use little smokies along with shredded Monterey Jack or Colby Jack cheese. My co-workers loved this recipe when I brought it in for a breakfast potluck and I plan on using it for tailgating as well as holidays - talk about versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States