Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
5 stars for wonderful bread minus 1 star for incomplete directions. The sausage needs to be cooked sausage and the hash browns are better if you precook them also. I cut my dough into 12 pieces, rolled each into a small tortilla size circle, put a 1/4 slice of cheese some crumbled,cooked sausage, then hash browns. Pinched the dough up tight, then a small twist to seal well then bake twist side down. They come out about the size of a hamburger bun. Only took 15 min. to cook. The bread is the best runza, cabbage burger, kolaches bread I have tried so far!!!! Is great with cooked apples, walnut, cinnamon filling instead of the meat filling also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoMouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I do not have a bread machine so made these using frozen bread dough thawed and allowed to rise then punched down. Rather than links I browned turkey breakfast sausage and used shredded cheddar. Was an okay breakfast but probably will not make again. Accidentally gave it 4 stars meant to rate at 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Excellent dough recipe! I didn't use the hash browns, but used pepper jack cheese and sausage from a local smokehouse. They were a hit with the hubby and kiddo. Will most certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is exactly what I was hoping for! Light tender soft dough wrapped around a smoky sausage. Just like the doughnut shops here in Texas serve. Only better because it came from my kitchen and I have 36 of these. (Well, I did but DH and I ate 5 of these already taste testing them.) I left out the hash browns and cheese and just used beef little smokies. The next time I will make a variety of sausage & jalapeno and ham & cheese too. Wonderful easy EASY recipe. No kneading! I made this without a bread machine. I warmed the milk and sugar in a saucepan, (I didn't measure the temp as candy thermometer is who knows where? so I felt it and when it was warm on my finger, like a baby's bottle would be, warm not hot, I added the yeast and 1 c bread flour and mixed it, then covered it and let it stand an hour. I then added in the melted butter, salt, egg and rest of the flour. I stirred what I could with a wooden spoon and then used my hands to mix in the last bits of flour. I then covered the bowl and let this rise until it was doubled, then divided it 36 pieces. They seemed really small, but they did rise up and the sausages fit perfectly! I didn't really make in indentation I just laid the sausage in the middle and wrapped the edges up over and pinched the edges shut and put it seam side down on the baking sheet. I didn't know this, but bread machine yeast IS regular yeast. Thanks for this recipe and to everyone else who gave me tips for making these turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
OMG! Yummmy! If your dough is not coming out right, make sure you use the bread flour and at diffterent altitutes adjust your flour. This was one of the easiest recipes and the kids loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This worked well with a few changes of convience. Do not have bread machine, so mixed the heated milk and sugar to about 115 degrees and added the yeast. Allowed that to foam about 10 minutes, then added the melted butter, egg, and combined dry ingredients by hand. Covered the whole thing and allowed to rise several hours then made a few with small sausages. Put the remaining dough in fridge, covered, overnight, and made some more for breakfast the following day. Put remaining dough back in fridge and will make some more and see how the freezing process comes out with these. Thanks for sharing a winning recipe for one of DH's favorite treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Wonderful, easy recipe for Texas style kolaches, my 2 year old won't eat the ones from the donut shop but eats these at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmers Branch, Texas, USA
Living In: Perrin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I was delighted at how well these came together. I will make again now that I know how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe! I've never made any sort of bread before and was surprised at how easy it was. I don't have a bread machine so I mixed the flour and yeast together and then added the warm milk and other ingredients. It came out perfectly! Usually when I use refrigerated dough, the bottoms get too brown or hard. These tasted like I bought them at a bakery! Reminded me of the ones I used to get at Prasek's in Hilje, TX! Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These are great for grab and go breakfasts. I send them with the guys on fly in fishing trips, hunting camps and family camping trips. When all the family is home for holidays I can make these ahead of time and not have to spend all my time in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States