Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The recipe was too vague, fortunately I have made these before. But if prepared as stated they would be something not nearly resembling kolaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I lived in Houston for some time, and grew to love these delicious meat filled or sweet filled bread. They were so amazing, and it was a staple at any office party or meeting in the AM. For so long I looked high and low, no luck. Saw this recipe and gave it a try - If you are proficient in making bread, no problem. It is important to understand following directions very carefully, and you should be okay. Give them a try, they will become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindyminer28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantsville, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaki de Maki
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Had never tries kolache before. I read about them in a book and I wanted to try them right away so I looked for a recipe and yours came up with many good reviews. I had no sausage, but I had some leftover ham that I used. I topped the potato with scallions. Love those rolls. Will wrap them up and freeze them for work lunches later on. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaki de Maki

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Val's Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I did a Ham and Cheese and a Desert Triple Berry, and my Roommate can't stop raving about them! Definitely gonna do this again and try different fillings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I made these over the weekend they are very much like those from the Houston area of TX. I did not have a bread machine and followed much of the others instructions. Used the small smokey links only, no cheese of hashbrowns and had a total of 30. The next batch will be ham and cheese! Thanks Melissa for submitting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Another transplanted Texan looking for traditional kolaches! The bread for these is truly perfect. Just like you get at the donut stores in Houston (Shipley's, anyone?). I did not modify the dough recipe at all. However, like most of my fellow Texans, I left out the hashbrowns and used Lil' Smokies and a chunk of Velveeta. Absolutely perfect. On the second batch, I also made a few with Johnsonville Cheddar and jalapeno sausage, diced jalapenos, and Velveeta. They were the hit of our New Year's Eve party. Thank you so much for giving me back a huge piece of my Texas roots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love the simplicity of this recipe, but I almost didn't try it after reading some of the reviews. But I was really interested so I read the entire recipe, and I found where others had made a big mistake The original recipe was for 36 Kolaches, so that is what the directions are based on, but the ingredients section has been changed for 18 servings (us) We used the dough split in half and made 9 breakfast kolaches and 9 fruit kolaches and it was wonderful. we baked the desert ones the same day and stored the breakfast ones in the fridge for the next morning and they were amazing. when you truly read the entire recipe you will have fantastic results that are so yummy. Thank You Melissa V
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
OMG!!! I think I've died and gone to Texas heaven! I now live on a remote island, about 30 miles off the coast of Northern Vancouver Island, in British Columbia, Canada...... Talk about a long way from Houston, Texas! I've asked around about Kolaches and nobody has heard of them within 500 miles! LOL!! These taste just like Kolaches from home! (P.S. they just came out of the oven and I can't stop eating them!) Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
These were great. If you don't have a bread machine, you have to use two packets of yeast. I filled with scrambled eggs, cheese and jalapenos, made them into little, or not so little, balls and baked. Rancheros all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This has become my go to recipe for all sorts of rolls. I did make a few tweaks to the recipe: I added 2 whole eggs instead of the 1 egg and 1 yolk and I found I had to increase the flour to 4 cups. I also roll out the little dough balls and brush them with olive oil or butter before I put in my stuffing ingredients. My whole family asks me to make these every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States