Breakfast In A Glass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great smoothie! I used fat free vanilla yogurt and because it was a little thick added a little extra skim milk. I also added a little strawberry jam in addition to the strawberries to sweeten it up a bit and increase the strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
As is - the recipe is very thick and the flavor is primarily bananna and yogurt. My friend and I then increased the strawberries, added 1/4c frozen OJ concentrate, added a splash of vanilla, a tsp of sugar and more milk to thin it out a little. Now - much better (but technically, a different recipe altogether). My friend (and boyfriend) still wasn't fond of the thick texture but I enjoyed it with the changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Delicious! Orange juice is a nice addition too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Because I used both frozen bananas and frozen strawberries (and a lot more strawberries than called for) this was so thick my Vita-Mix wouldn't even cut through it, which necessitated my having to add a lot more milk to make it run. The end result was a pleasant surprise! This was fresh and fruity tasting, and not as bogged down by the slightly sour tang of yogurt as some smoothies can be. I added a little honey to sweeten it up and this time Hubs actually commented on how "really good" this was without my prompting him. (Hmmm, I have to remember that - frozen fruit and LOTS of it, more milk and less yogurt) What is particularly nice about this smoothie is that there are no "exotic" ingredients you are not likely to have on hand. Smoothies,at least for me anyway, are something made on the spur of the moment and bananas and strawberries are simple, basic ingredients you can always have available in your freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I put in one banana, half a container of blueberry yogurt, 1/2 tsp Vanilla, sprinkle of cinnamin, between 1/2 - 1 cup of 1% milk, and 4 ice cubes. Blended for one glass. Excellent texture, a refreshing morning treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This was really good. I used strawberry-banana yogurt. It was really thick, next time I will use half the yogurt and maybe add some ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Excellent recipe. Family loved it. I think I'll try pineapple next time instead of strawberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I used both a frozen banana and frozen strawberries. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. The consistancy was just right and for me, this was perfectly sweet BUT I will say that my banana was plenty ripe. This was wonderful--this really made one portion........for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
it is fantastic, i did it only for me to try it, but i'll do it again for the family, in winter is better use more sugar because the strawberry are still acid. i love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I have made this with oranges and fresh pineapple, peaches and bananas, very ripe pears and strawberries, whatever I have on hand. If I don't have milk , I use orange juice. I also add honey if I need to sweeten it up a bit. It is a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Breakfast in Bangkok

This healthy carrot and apple juice features a tasty Thai twist.

Breakfast Zinger Juice

Use your juicer to make a super-healthy drink with beets, carrots, and apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States