Breakfast Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These were somewhat bland the first time I made them. The second time I added cooked sausage, scrambled eggs, O'brien potatoes and a mix of cheddar and pepperjack to stuff the enchiladas. What a very pleasant surprise.... Quite tasty, in fact. Just to experiment, I froze two of the enchiladas and am so very glad I did. Had no idea what to expect as I have never had a reason to freeze scrambled eggs. Popped them into the oven and when done, tasted as if they were freshly made. Perfect to keep on hand for surprise overnight guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
This recipe was really good. I actually added eggs in the burritos also. Great tasting. I think I will try pouring eggs over the whole thing too to try and make a casserole. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This turned out really good. I enjoyed it a lot. I also tried it with the eggs in it, and I also enjoyed it like that. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
YES Five Stars! I made a few changes. Instead of ham I used bacon and medium spicy sausage. I also used scrambles eggs and put inside. After I rolled them I took the sauce and mixed with sour cream then topped with cheese. When serving I had sour cream and freshly made Pica de Galla. Every one told me it was the best breakfast they ever had. I thought so too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I needed a recipe for ham, and had most of the ingredients on hand, my 6 yr & 3 yr old actually enjoyed it. I did not have green enchilada sauce so made the Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce found on the website. We've now tried it both ways and prefer the taste of the Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce. I also used 4 grated potatoe's instead of the frozen hasbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockway, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I made this like a casserole...in layers and used corn tortillas. I topped it with a couple of dallops of sour cream and it came out pretty tasty. Next time I will try it with beans and chorizo with flour tortillas and maybe a red enchilada sauce for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made half the amount home fries just for this recipe (instead of using packaged frozen hashbrowns) and threw in a few scrambled eggs in place of some of the home fries. I also used corn tortillas--for me, the corn tortillas seem to stand up better when used in enchilada recipes. These weren't bad. The recipe was easy and filled up three hungry men for not much money at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
I was not impressed with these at all. They seemed to be missing something. I think I was expecting a more traditional enchilada flavor to them. The flour tortillas got really saugy and sticky. If I decide to try this again I will use corn tortillas lightly fried in oil instead. Maybe I will add some egg as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GABESGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
We made this for our men's breakfast at our church. It was good, but we felt it needed some egg mixture, it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAFOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA
Photo by MegHarmeyer
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I could have used fresh New Mexico chiles but I was making the recipe for a cooking challenge and had to make it with ingredients that are widely available. I only had enough potato/ham mixture for four enchiladas - maybe I filled them too much? My husband really liked this and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegHarmeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States