Breakfast Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I added 1 cup milk and 1 teaspoon vanilla also. The kids loved it and it was quick and easy to prepare. Will definately add it to the breakfast lineup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadbury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
The recipe as is isn't very good. It was good with some butter spread over the top right out of the oven, but as soon as it cooled, it was crumbly and flavorless. It would be good with some apple pie filling and ice cream on top and served as a dessert rather than the way intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This tasted really good right out of the oven but as soon as it cooled.. it was the dryest crumbly crumbs ever! I won't make this again. I was really thinking it might be like oatmeal cookies but.. it's NOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The only changes I made were to use regular rolled oats instead of instant, and to bake it in a glass pie dish. It was delicious, like eating a giant oatmeal cookie. It turned out kind of crumbly, but I don't mind that. It was a great breakfast, but I think it would also be good served as a dessert with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I forgot the butter only because I was in a rush... but it was great! But I did add 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of vanilla, and I put it in my glass pie dish. Really GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Great breakfast for kids. My son loved it as did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this for the first time today. After reading other reviews about it "needing something". I happen to have two ripe bananas which I mashed and added together with some walnuts.I also added 1/4tsp of vanilla extract. I would have added milk as suggested, but the bananas made it very soupy. I left out the milk, and cooked it for the full 30mins. We loved it! Next time I'll add the milk too, just to see which way I like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzChris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: South Dennis, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I substituted wheat flour, added one apple, 1/4 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup milk. I also took it out five minutes early. Very good breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Me and a friend actually found this recipe to be tasty, although simple. It could be crumbly if you over cook it (I cooked it for 5 minutes less than called for) I also wouldn't offer it in the car, I think the recipe is meant to be more like a granola bar, but i like it soft. I will try it again with dried fruit and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
We, too, found this recipe "just ok" in taste. Served at room temperature with cold milk or hot coffee the flavors are enhanced. We experienced all of deficiencies sited by other reviewers. It definitely needs something additional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States