Breakfast Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Its so good. I did read the reviews that it needed something, so I added apples, a little extra cinnamon, a squirt of honey, and a shot of pear cider. I was also out of brown sugar and I used regular white sugar instead. It turned out great! I think I'll wait to add the honey as a glaze next time so it comes out a little more crisp, but excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
After reading reviews about being dry & needing something more, I too added banana. I also baked a second one using 2 cups of homecanned apple pie filling. Yum. One could probably use peach or cherry pie filling as well. If I did it, I'd probably add a dash of almond extract for those. I won't say for sure how long to bake-my oven's inconsistent. Around 20 to 30 minutes I'd guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I thought it was good, but I made some changes. I added 1/2 cup of milk, 1 tsp of vanilla like several others said to do, and then I added about a handful of pitted fresh cherries. My kids devoured it with the changes. It will become a staple when our cherries trees are ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I followed other reviewer's advice and used 2 eggs, 2 mashed bananas, extra cinnamon and some nutmeg. I also added a handful of walnuts and topped half of it with choclate chips. I loved the choclate topped ones, however it does take over the flavor...but I didn't mind. Super easy and yummy pop and go snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delish! I followed one members advice and added 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 cup of milk and one apple. Was very, very good! I only cooked it for 25 minutes and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was good. Not too sweet, so I didn't feel as if I was feeding a cookie to my kids for breakfast! :) To combat the dryness, I added 1/4 cup of applesauce and left the rest as is. It is yummy and is a great way to deal with those kids who are hard to wake up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
mmm...After reading reviews, it seemed this recipe would be dry and crumbly, I just wasn't feeling that this morning. So I halved the recipie, added about 1/2 Tb. extra butter (did not use margarine at all), splashed some milk into the egg before scrambling together (a little less than a 1/3 C.) and added just a splash of vanilla. It came out moist and deliciously. Like a brown sugar cinnamon oatmeal bar. mmm...5 stars after my mods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
There appears to be something missing in this recipe, it was dry and powdery, no wonder there were so meny bad reviews. However, I added 2 eggs, 2 mashed bananas, a handful of walnuts, and a handful of raisins. A table spoon of baking powder, a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, and more cinnamon, and a touch of nutmeg. This is a keeper, so 5 stars with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Food Freak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I used packets of flavored oatmeal (i.e. Bananas and Cream, Peaches and Cream, etc.) and this came out great! Like oatmeal cookie bars. As other people have pointed out, the batter is thick and you don't really "pour" it into the pan but rather press it in. It's quick and easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
awesome thank you for the extra tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States