Breakfast Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
mmm...After reading reviews, it seemed this recipe would be dry and crumbly, I just wasn't feeling that this morning. So I halved the recipie, added about 1/2 Tb. extra butter (did not use margarine at all), splashed some milk into the egg before scrambling together (a little less than a 1/3 C.) and added just a splash of vanilla. It came out moist and deliciously. Like a brown sugar cinnamon oatmeal bar. mmm...5 stars after my mods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
awesome thank you for the extra tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I really enjoy these breakfast crisps in the morning. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a very tastey dish. I did change some things. I added 2 eggs, 1/2 cu butter, more cinnamon, a splash of vanilla extract, and baked it for 10 minutes insted of what the recipe said. I made it for breakfast for my sisters and they loved it! I dont get why people rated it so badly...I guess they dont have taste buds. Oh well, it was freakin awesome. This is the teen signing off. ttyl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The only changes I made were to use regular rolled oats instead of instant, and to bake it in a glass pie dish. It was delicious, like eating a giant oatmeal cookie. It turned out kind of crumbly, but I don't mind that. It was a great breakfast, but I think it would also be good served as a dessert with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Its so good. I did read the reviews that it needed something, so I added apples, a little extra cinnamon, a squirt of honey, and a shot of pear cider. I was also out of brown sugar and I used regular white sugar instead. It turned out great! I think I'll wait to add the honey as a glaze next time so it comes out a little more crisp, but excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chillicothe, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
There appears to be something missing in this recipe, it was dry and powdery, no wonder there were so meny bad reviews. However, I added 2 eggs, 2 mashed bananas, a handful of walnuts, and a handful of raisins. A table spoon of baking powder, a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, and more cinnamon, and a touch of nutmeg. This is a keeper, so 5 stars with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Food Freak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Delicious, wonderful presentation, and a welcome change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I forgot the butter only because I was in a rush... but it was great! But I did add 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of vanilla, and I put it in my glass pie dish. Really GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delish! I followed one members advice and added 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 cup of milk and one apple. Was very, very good! I only cooked it for 25 minutes and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a hearty potato and egg casserole perfect for Sunday brunch.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States