Breakfast Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I substituted wheat flour, added one apple, 1/4 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup milk. I also took it out five minutes early. Very good breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this for the first time today. After reading other reviews about it "needing something". I happen to have two ripe bananas which I mashed and added together with some walnuts.I also added 1/4tsp of vanilla extract. I would have added milk as suggested, but the bananas made it very soupy. I left out the milk, and cooked it for the full 30mins. We loved it! Next time I'll add the milk too, just to see which way I like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzChris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The only changes I made were to use regular rolled oats instead of instant, and to bake it in a glass pie dish. It was delicious, like eating a giant oatmeal cookie. It turned out kind of crumbly, but I don't mind that. It was a great breakfast, but I think it would also be good served as a dessert with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
There appears to be something missing in this recipe, it was dry and powdery, no wonder there were so meny bad reviews. However, I added 2 eggs, 2 mashed bananas, a handful of walnuts, and a handful of raisins. A table spoon of baking powder, a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, and more cinnamon, and a touch of nutmeg. This is a keeper, so 5 stars with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Food Freak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
mmm...After reading reviews, it seemed this recipe would be dry and crumbly, I just wasn't feeling that this morning. So I halved the recipie, added about 1/2 Tb. extra butter (did not use margarine at all), splashed some milk into the egg before scrambling together (a little less than a 1/3 C.) and added just a splash of vanilla. It came out moist and deliciously. Like a brown sugar cinnamon oatmeal bar. mmm...5 stars after my mods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
These were just ok. I wasn't impressed. I threw the recipe away, then the kids and hubby asked me to make them again, since the first batch lasted less than a day. So, 3 against 1, I guess they are great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adrian, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
awesome thank you for the extra tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I followed other reviewer's advice and used 2 eggs, 2 mashed bananas, extra cinnamon and some nutmeg. I also added a handful of walnuts and topped half of it with choclate chips. I loved the choclate topped ones, however it does take over the flavor...but I didn't mind. Super easy and yummy pop and go snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delish! I followed one members advice and added 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 cup of milk and one apple. Was very, very good! I only cooked it for 25 minutes and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was good. Not too sweet, so I didn't feel as if I was feeding a cookie to my kids for breakfast! :) To combat the dryness, I added 1/4 cup of applesauce and left the rest as is. It is yummy and is a great way to deal with those kids who are hard to wake up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States