Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bailey
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I modified this recipe quite a bit, but it turned out amazing! I don't eat pork, so I used chicken bacon and chicken sausage, omitted the butter, halved the sour cream, halved the hashbrowns, and used cream of mushroom soup instead. I also added diced red and green peppers, spinach, mushroom, red onion, puréed chipotle peppers, garlic, basil, and parsley. I baked this for 45 minutes in my cast iron skillet, stirring twice, as some of the mixture was dry, but some was very wet still. It ruined my nice layer of cheese on top, so next time I'll skip that step until before serving. All in all, it was delicious! The next day, I reheated the leftovers in a frying pan, which made them crisp up quite a bit. Much better with that texture! In the future I will make this again, but pre-make it the night before, let the flavours sit, and then fry up our servings as we eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Heavy on the sour cream, bland and dry. Couldn't finish eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
very nice! i replaced the soup mixture with an egg mixture for a more "breakfast" flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I tweaked it by adding Broccoli! It was sooooooo good :) I skipped the ham and doubled the chicken:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Very bland. The next time I make this, I will use chorizo and some peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Idk why it didnt occur to me before i made this recipe, but this is just a recipe for cheesy potatoes with ham added. Still good though. I will double the amount of ham i add the next time i make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is an excellent casserole. But, is there anything that Rotel Tomatoes and Green Chilies can't make better? I added a can (drained) and 3/4 cup of green pepper to this and used Lay's Sour Cream and Onion potato chips. This gives the dish a little color and just enough kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
While my kids and I like it, my husband thought it was blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I love this recipe. I have made it many times for pot lucks, work, sunday brunches, etc. There are never leftovers. I use honeybaked ham (buy by the slice) in this recipe and I eliminate the chicken because I love cheese and ham. I use reduced sodium cream of chicken, reduced fat (not fat free) sour cream, and 2% cheddar cheese. I double the amount of cheese. Pre-shredded cheese doesn't seem to melt as well and 2% definitely doesn't melt as well, so just for the topping I use regular cheddar cheese that I shred myself. I have used fresh onion, frozen onion and an onion soup packet. Fresh onion was by far the best. Onion seems to lose its flavor after it's frozen (might be in my head) and the soup mix made it taste like it came out of a can (that might be in my head too). I usually double this recipe and bake it in a large deep lasagna pan. There still aren't leftovers when I double it. I have even taken TWO double pans to work and there were no leftovers. I would like to try making potato pancakes (like you do with leftover mashed potatoes) but I never get to try it because there are never leftovers. Maybe one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Good and easy. Mine needed to cook more. So it was better the next day. I also used the potato mix with peppers and onions to save time. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States