Breakfast Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This recipe was just OK. First of all, it was pretty bland. I would definitely season (and maybe even brown) the potatoes first so they are more flavorful. I also found the potato to egg ratio to be too high. It seemed like mostly potatoes with a little egg around them. I'd half the potatoes if I made it again. It needs salt and pepper for seasoning. And I'd put the cheese throughout for even flavor, not just on top. The whole thing was kind of bland except for the sausagey bites, but it's a good base to start from if you tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
I've had a lot of different breakfast casseroles and this is THE BEST so far. Everyone at my breakfast loved it -- men and women. The mushroom soup sounded wierd, but it worked! I did one layer of tater tots, one layer of crumbled sausage, one layer of sauteed fresh mushrooms, red peppers and onions, and one layer of pepper jack and cheddar cheese; added some salt and green Tabasco to the egg mixture and poured all over the top of the casserole. A sprinkling of paprika for color and it was a beautiful as well as tasty dish. I've made this several times now -- great make-ahead meal! It will take longer to cook than the recipe says -- about 1 to 1.5 hours to properly set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
The only reason I'm giving this four stars is because I changed the recipe so much. I used half HOT sausage and half Regular sausage. I sauteed green peppers and onions with FRESH mushrooms before adding them to the cooked sausage. Instead of regular cream of mushroom soup, I used cream of mushroom with garlic soup to add a little flavor. I also added a half cup of cheese to the egg mixture and increased the amount of cheese sprinkled on top. With these alterations, it was an EXCELLENT dish. I got so many compliments and will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Excellent, excellent, excellent! Forget the holidays..this is great year-round! ;) One note: if you don't thaw the tater tots, you will have a very soupy consistency. Otherwise it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kendallville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
My family loved this recipe. I feed seven people with plenty of leftovers! I did sautee onions and green peppers with the sausage for some added flavor and made the entire recipe (including throwing in the tator tots) the evening prior. The consistency was just fine. I added about one-half cup of sharp cheddar to the recipe, and topped it off with about the same during the last ten minutes. This was yummy and a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FALNANGELZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
Delicious!!! I tried the layered approach (tots, sausage, mushrooms, cheese) then put the eggs mixture on top. I also used a large souffle pan instead of the rectangular dish to give it depth. Assembled it completely the night before and it came out beautifully. The cheese gave it a nice brown crown. Will definitely make again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Sage sausage gives it a really nice kick. As recommended, I added sauted onion & minced garlic, green peppers, fresh mushrooms. I also used frozen hash browns rather than tater tots. I doubled the recipe, but found I only really needed one 32 oz. pkg of hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This recipe is so good! I made this for company and everyone loved it and had seconds. I will make this again, but will make a couple minor changes. I agree that adding a little onion and possibly chopped green pepper would make it even better. I used sage sausage because my family prefers it to regular sausage. I also needed to bake it about an extra 10 minutes, but the texture then was perfect. And it is so easy to prepare, which makes it a hit for me. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I decided to try this recipe because I was tired of all the same old same old...IT WAS GREAT!! My family are huge breakfast fans and this was a great change. Plus, it is able to serve alot!! It is easy to whip up and throw in the oven to cook while you are doing other things. For a little spice, I added 1/4 cup chopped red and green peppers. I've recently passed the recipe onto my mom and now I've got them addicted too!! thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I added some frozen peas and it came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States