Breakfast Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I really like this recipe. I used frozen Potatoes O'Brien (it has onions and peppers in it) and the garlic cream of mushroom soup. It added flavor without dumping salt into the recipe. I've also made it with egg substitute and it turns out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We use this recipe frequently in my home. Because I have a few that won't eat mushrooms I use a can of cream of celery soup instead and nix the sliced mushrooms. Overall a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
this recipe has been a Christmas morning tradition for about five years now. SOME MODIFICATIONS after the 1st time I made it: Use less eggs and more cheese and meat, otherwise it taste like bunch of scrambled eggs. 6-8 eggs, 1 1/2-2 pkg.'s sausage ( I use the Italian seasoned kind or half reg. and half seasoned). 1 8 oz. pkg of cheese. I also added 1/2 of a large sweet chopped onion and salt and pepper to taste. This is a hit and continues to be made every X-mas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've made this many times - I actually have one in the oven right now! I don't like mushrooms so I use cream of chicken soup and I omit the mushrooms. I mix some cheese in with the egg so the cheese isn't just on top. I also like to use different cheeses. The one baking right now has a mix of extra sharp cheddar, jack, pepper jack, and mozzarella. The issue I have is cooking time. Every time I make this, I have to bake it much longer than the indicated time. The eggs in the center take so long to set. I just haven't been able to find the "optimal" cooking time. All in all, this is a great dish if you have to make breakfast for a group of people. I usually make this and a french toast casserole for the non-egg eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I made this for a work event and it came out pretty good, but only after I followed the advice of other reviewers. I used sage breakfast sausage and sauteed with onions and green bell peppers and added fresh mushrooms instead of canned mushrooms. I also added 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese within the egg mixture. Instead of the potato rounds, I used hash browns and used half of the bag instead of all 32 oz. I baked for 1 hour, added the cheddar on top, and then baked for another 10 minutes. I would make it again, but I'll try hot sausage next time and some kind of seasoned hash browns for more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Love this recipe such a hearty breakfast...Love making this on Sunday morning for the entire family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
As others suggested did layered approach: meat, used southwest style hash browns, cheese and then topped with egg mixture (left out the mushrooms) and it was excellent. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Soooo...I turned this into something completely different but used this recipe as my base. I used cheddar chs soup instead of the cream of mushroom. I sauted garlic, little sweet peppers and onions and threw in 1/2 cup of steamed broc. I threw in 1/4 cup each of parm chs and pepperjack chs into the egg base mixture cause that is what I had. Used a bacon saus mixture and hashbrowns instead of the potatoe rounds...great mix of flavors with some hidden veggies in it, egg, dairy, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This has become a regular in our house! And a wonderful meal to make with the kids! My son loves to make this with me and it's so simple he's even memorized the ingredients! We love this by itself or even served with tortilla shells like a burrito! I do sometimes use an extra package of sausage, and spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I thought this was bland. I would use spicy sausage, definitely cut the amount of potatoes to about 1/2, add some sauteed onion and salt and pepper. I felt like I was eating mostly potatoes in each bite and didn't taste any egg. It was good, but could be much better with some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States