Breakfast Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
We've made this recipe several times and really enjoy it! I always add a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, a little minced onion and garlic, and I use whatever frozen potatoes we have on hand (tater tots and hash browns both work well). I do add a good bit more sharp shredded cheddar, though. Actually, I add a lot more -- probably 1 cup in the casserole and 2 cups on top, cooked til the cheese is bubbly and browned a little. If you live in the southeast where Neese's sausage is available, you've GOT to use that -- and get the "hot" variety. So good! I sometimes use a pound and a half, depending on what's in the fridge. We slice squares of this casserole, wrap individually and freeze -- it freezes beautifully! That's a big plus. So nice when you wake up hungry and don't have time for (or don't feel like) cooking -- you can just defrost and then heat a square of this casserole in the microwave, and it's just as delicious as fresh out of the oven. Very much a comfort food. Thanks bunches for sharing this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DISCOBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I added turkey sausage, bacon, green peppers, onions, mushrooms and lots of cheese and it turned out great. I did add two more eggs to make sure there was enough to cook over all the veggie's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
It was ok. I've had other breakfast casserole recipes I liked alot better. It was easy to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I wanted to like this more than I did. I do prefer potatoes instead of bread in a breakfast casserole..it's a texture thing. However, the recipe as is was a bit bland and pretty dry. Perhaps a few more eggs and a little more kick? I did not see anyone else comment on dryness, so maybe I over baked it (I have a phobia of undercooked egg casseroles...again the texture thing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Made exactly as directed and I really liked it as did company. Thanks to other reviewers, I found out the can of milk is just regular milk. You fill up the soup can with milk after you pour the soup in. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this recipe for Easter brunch and got rave reviews. It truly was phenomenal! I layered the tator-rounds in the bottom of the baking dish. It actually made a full layer and then I spaced out the remaining rounds on a second layer. I whisked the eggs and milk together and then added the remaining ingredients (including the sausage) to the egg mixturem, then dumped over the potato rounds. I will make this dish over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was very good. I love breakfast casseroles. Only made 2 changes. I added onions, which we really like, to the sausage while it was browning. And I only had hash brown patties which I tore into bite sized pieces. I've noticed some reviewers confused about the 10.75 oz can of milk. Once you've emptied your can of soup you fill the can with milk. It doesn't call for condensed or evaporated milk. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was very good. Everyone went back for seconds and thirds. I followed the advise of another reviewer by layering the potatoes, cooked sausage, mushrooms, red pepper, cheeses then poured the egg mixture over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Everyone liked it. I did modify a bit to make healthier. I used ham in place of sausage, half egg beaters and half eggs, low fat crm of mushroom soup, skim milk, 2% cheese. Added some seasoning salt and garlic for some added flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I have a similar recipe to this one and I put in more eggs dozen to 18 eggs that are softly scrambled. I add 2 cans of soup cream of celery, and cream of chicken. I saute mushrooms instead along with onions. I use hashbrown bite size potatoes or you can use potato "obrien". You add a can of milk (meaning fill up the empty soup can with 1% or 2% milk. Very good! I use left overs from a spiral sliced ham, bacon or sausage. All are good! Great recipe! Use Ham and left over grilled asparagus in the casserole for a Easter or Mother's Day breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States