Breakfast Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Delicious casserole. I used frozen hash browns as I had no rounds both times making. I ran luke warm water over potatoes while in a strainer to defrost a tad. Placed potatoes on paper towel to absorb any little water left. I used 10 eggs (1st time)as this is what I had on hand. I omitted mushrooms(for kids taste). You could add anything to this and it still be yummy. Make sure to follow to a tee and if you have any extra items add your own touches for personal taste( bell pepper, crumbled bacon, onion, etc) I normally do not change up recipes the first time making. I made this twice and second time I added some additional touches (crumbled bacon and onion). This recipes is perfect as written or with extra touches. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
We thought this was really good but I made a few alterations in a hope to make it a little healthier. I substituted 50% less fat pork sausage, I used a small carton of egg beaters and then only 4 eggs, I used probably a cup of cheese but I used sharp cheddar 2% cheese, I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, only 1/2 cup skim milk, 98% fat free soup, and probably 20 oz of obrien hashbrowns. We changed A LOT but kept the basic recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I love this breakfast casserole. I found this recipe two years ago when I was looking for something different (but easy) to make for my family Christmas morning... before presents. That Christmas Eve, I made it (exactly as the recipe indicated) the night before and heated it up Christmas morning. Everyone loved it. Instant family favorite. I did think it needed salt, though. And, for me, pepper. Shortly after, I began getting requests for this casserole on a regular basis. A few times, I used Sage sausage. Excellent flavor. A couple times, I did not have condensed milk, so I just used a little regular milk. Still tasted great. A few times, I have added garlic salt. One time, I used cream of mushroom, with roasted garlic. Hmmm.. and, another time, I used diced potatoes with green and red peppers.. Added some onions to the egg mixture. Nice flavors.. It seems you can use this base recipe and come up with multiple variations, based upon your likes and dislikes.... Next time, I'm thinking of using bacon, rather than sausage, and mixing the cheese throughout the mixture, with just a bit spread across the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made this ahead of time to heat up on a camping trip. I added the cheese while heating it up over the fire - and covered it tightly with foil. I added fresh mushrooms, but the red peppers and onions would be a great addition. Do add salt and pepper. I thawed the tater tots. Use those instead of hashbrowns. The crispy outside of the tater tots made this even better. It was a huge it with my entire crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is too good! I've served this for Christmas breakfast and my family can't get enough. By far the tastiest breakfast bake I've tasted. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was very good. I didn't add as many eggs as it called for, and I didn't have enough potatoes (in fact only almost 1 cup) so I substituted dried potato flakes. Made it thicker of a consistency. I think I would prefer more potato chunks then I had, but I would probably still cut them down to sub some potato flakes for the texture addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I hate not giving more than 3 stars, but I have to be honest and say I really didn't care for this breakfast casserole, but I should have known better about not adding in salt or pepper...I THINK that the eggs definitely need a splash of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Super easy and delicious! I added onion when cooking the sausage, as well as about a cup of cheese to the egg mixture before baking. And I guessed the "can of milk" is evaporated milk??? That's what I used at least and it seemed to do the trick. I used potatoes o'brien instead of the round, as well. It took about an hour and 10 minutes to fully cook so there was no jiggly egg center. Overall, I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Callister
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I made this for a friend's family and didn't get to taste it, but it smelled and looked wonderful! I sauteed half an onion with the sausage and left out the can of mushrooms...oh, I also added some cheese, salt, and pepper to the egg mixture. Layered the tater tots, sausage, then eggs. Will definitely make again, this time for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Practically Organic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This recipe as written was very boring. Nothing wrong with it but it needs more punch. I did add cheese as others suggested (2 c. sharp cheddar) but it was still too bland for my taste. Also needs salt. I would make again but use another potato variety and some addtl spices to kick it up. But it was easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States