Breakfast Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
We loved this! I used thawed tater tots as many reviewers did and I added a bit of season salt to the eggs along with pepper. We had a lot of leftovers - half of the recipe would still be plenty for just 2 people. This reheated very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Very good! We had it for Christmas Brunch and everyone loved it. A definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
IT WAS GREAT BUT I ADDED AN ONION AND IT WAS SUCH A LARGE AMOUNT NEXT TIME I WILL CUT THE INGREDIENTS IN HALF!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Fantastic! Just made this for Christmas Day. Used thawed tater tots and layered with sauteed shrooms, onions and peppers as per other reviewers suggestions. Made it with Better Than Eggs and added a bunch of green sauce and Emerils Essence to the eggs and soup mix. Covered it with tin foil and baked for 50 minutes, then 25 minutes more uncovered to solidify the center. Use lots of a zippy cheese for extra pizzaz. Serve with green taco sauce on top and fruit on the side. Very filling and delicioso! Since it's so versatile and can be made in advance I plan to use this recipe for holidays, work potlucks and for visiting company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made this recipe for Easter brunch and got rave reviews. It truly was phenomenal! I layered the tator-rounds in the bottom of the baking dish. It actually made a full layer and then I spaced out the remaining rounds on a second layer. I whisked the eggs and milk together and then added the remaining ingredients (including the sausage) to the egg mixturem, then dumped over the potato rounds. The only minor complaint is that the dish is a little salty. However, I will make this dish over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Everyone loved this recipe. I did add about a cup of cheese to the mixture besides the cheese I put on top because we LOVE cheese! I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer than it suggested. I will be making this again at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texasgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've had lots of breakfast casseroles, but this is sooo good! The texture with the cream of mushroom soup is unbelievable. YUM! Been making this for special occasions and sleepy Sundays in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bri Park

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Delicious casserole. I used frozen hash browns as I had no rounds both times making. I ran luke warm water over potatoes while in a strainer to defrost a tad. Placed potatoes on paper towel to absorb any little water left. I used 10 eggs (1st time)as this is what I had on hand. I omitted mushrooms(for kids taste). You could add anything to this and it still be yummy. Make sure to follow to a tee and if you have any extra items add your own touches for personal taste( bell pepper, crumbled bacon, onion, etc) I normally do not change up recipes the first time making. I made this twice and second time I added some additional touches (crumbled bacon and onion). This recipes is perfect as written or with extra touches. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
We thought this was really good but I made a few alterations in a hope to make it a little healthier. I substituted 50% less fat pork sausage, I used a small carton of egg beaters and then only 4 eggs, I used probably a cup of cheese but I used sharp cheddar 2% cheese, I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, only 1/2 cup skim milk, 98% fat free soup, and probably 20 oz of obrien hashbrowns. We changed A LOT but kept the basic recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I love this breakfast casserole. I found this recipe two years ago when I was looking for something different (but easy) to make for my family Christmas morning... before presents. That Christmas Eve, I made it (exactly as the recipe indicated) the night before and heated it up Christmas morning. Everyone loved it. Instant family favorite. I did think it needed salt, though. And, for me, pepper. Shortly after, I began getting requests for this casserole on a regular basis. A few times, I used Sage sausage. Excellent flavor. A couple times, I did not have condensed milk, so I just used a little regular milk. Still tasted great. A few times, I have added garlic salt. One time, I used cream of mushroom, with roasted garlic. Hmmm.. and, another time, I used diced potatoes with green and red peppers.. Added some onions to the egg mixture. Nice flavors.. It seems you can use this base recipe and come up with multiple variations, based upon your likes and dislikes.... Next time, I'm thinking of using bacon, rather than sausage, and mixing the cheese throughout the mixture, with just a bit spread across the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States