Breakfast Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was very average - hence the 3 stars. There is so much one can do with breakfast casseroles, that it was almost a shame this one left out most of the flavorful stuff. The frozen potatoes came out soggy and barely cooked, the canned mushrooms have no taste and only brought a weird rubbery addition to the dish, and the only good thing was the cheesy crust. It also stuck to the baking dish despite a lot of grease. Everybody ate it without major complaints, nobody asked for seconds, and we were all hungry again within the hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was a great recipe. I did have to cook it for about 15 minutes longer than called for or I would have given it 5 stars. Everyone agreed that it would benefit from some diced green peppers and maybe a little bit of diced sweet onions but I'd make it again just like it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hbrownlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as described but added some chives that I had in the fridge that needed to be used.I did have to increase the baking time to 1 hr and 15 minutes. Turned out absolutely fabulous. It was moist & had a nice crust on the edges. Very very tasty!!! Will make again. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beenee
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
5 stars, really? This was mediocre at best. Quite bland and non-descript. I made 2 of these following the recipe exactly. I had a brunch for 16 ppl. Nobody raved or even told me it was good. 1 guest asked for ketchup and another asked for Tobasco! I think I will go back to my regular recipe for breakfast casserole. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was GREAT! Took it to church this morning and it was DEVOURED! I made it up last night and left it in the fridge to just pop in the oven this am. Worked out perfectly and the ONLY change I made was to add a full cup of cheese rather than just 1/2 cup. SO YUMMY! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrill Pecere

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
YUM! I made this for Easter. My friend is a vegetarian and I used broccoli inplace of sausage. It was by far my favorite breakfast casserole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmendorf Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
EMERGENCY SHORTCUT: I was in a horrible rush with several last minute, teen boys on their way here so I used frozen O'brian-style hashbrowns as a shortcut. There were peppers and onions in the mix so I skipped that step, but added two cloves of garlic for fuller flavor. It looked soupy enough so I didn't add any extra liquid. After baking 45 minutes the results were a bit watery. Probably from the frozen veggies. The veggies were a little undercooked too so I baked it for another 30 minutes. It came out PERFECT and was well worth the wait! Even with a doubled recipe the pans were emptied and the audience raved. My 9yo son asked if we could make this every Saturday and one guest raved that he was glad I didn't use cr. of mush. soup like his mom (Funny, because I used two cans for the dbl. recipe!) Next time I think I'll bump up the temp. and the cooking time. I usually don't comment on a recipe I've mutilated so fiercely, but this was such a quick and delicious hit in a moment of desperation. Thank you for helping me save the day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is really an easy one, and you can add things to it, if you like, in the veggie department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Olivet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very bland. We did not let the hashbrowns thaw beforehand so it was a watery, sloppy mess. Also if you add veggies as others suggest, make sure they are cooked first so they are not so harsh compared to the other ingredients. We will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States