Breakfast Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This was ok. I left out the brocoli, but I do not see that adding that much to it. Probablly will not make again. Thanks though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaandAvasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Very easy. I make this all the time and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I always make this for overnight guests..a BIG hit.Everyone loves it and always requests for the recipe.I use a whole lb. of bacon and a whole box of frozen chopped broccoli (cooked in microwave). For Christmas breakfast I serve this with the "clone of a cinnabon" recipe. Awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITA66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
The first time I made this recipe, I liked the make-ahead convenience, but to be honest, the taste was very bland. Also, I couldn't fit 8 slices of bread into a 9x13 pan without overlapping them (I'm surprised no one else mentioned this). So I modified the recipe as follows. I reduced the bread to 6 slices (even with only 6, they still went up the sides of the pan a little) - soft breads are good because they absorb the egg mixture and bake up nice and fluffy (I used a soft, fresh whole-wheat bread). Then I greatly increased the cheese and meat (to 2 cups and 24 oz., respectively) and reduced the eggs to 8, because I prefer a less "eggy" taste. I also used Dijon mustard (instead of dry mustard) and upped it to about 1/4 cup. After these modifications, the result was much more satisfying and flavorful, in my opinion. The generous measure of bacon, plus the added plenty of flavor to make your taste buds say "Wow!" You could also use ham - anything that is very flavorful - just be sure to use plenty. Normally I'm not a big meat or cheese eater, but in this recipe, you really need it or the casserole is very blah. The original measurement of meat (8 ounces) just got overwhelmed by all the eggs and bread - I couldn't even taste it. Increasing the meat, cheese, and mustard and reducing the eggs and bread made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Very yummy. Didn't use the broccoli--instead used maple sausage--would cut down a little on that the next time though. Will add some onions and gr. peppers next time for a little "zip!" Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This was a very easy recipe to make. I made it about 4 hours ahead of time and then just popped it in the oven. I found the time and ingriedent measurements to be right on. I will be making it again but I think I will add some sauted onions and peppers to give it just a little more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I made this recipe for an early morning tailgate before a football game. It was a huge hit. I used 1/2 the amount of sausage (hot & spicy) and used pepper jack cheese for a little kick. Wow! It was so easy, especially since I made it the night before and just popped in it in the oven the next morning. I will make this again over the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This was really good. I added garlic salt rather than regular salt and used sausage and bacon. My husband and daughter won't eat broccoli, so I didn't try. I made first thing in the morning and did not let sit over night. It tasted a lot like a stratta. The bread got really fluffy. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Very good! I did the "bake immediately" step instead of the overnight thing and it turned out good. I used cooked/cubed ham and the broccoli (for us) is a must. VERY GOOD! I was worried the bread would get mushy but it baked w/ the rest beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I used croissants instead of regular bread and no broccoli. Came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States