Breakfast Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe moved from 4 to 5 stars following Linda K's recommedations to boost the bacon and cheese. With the second preparation of this recipe, I layered the bread with broccoli first, then bacon, and finally the cheese. This seemed to hold the ingredients in place and the broccoli did not "crisp" and dry out. Excellent reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I made this the night before for a brunch and it turned out delicious! I used only six slices of bread, because they all didn't fit. I broke up the bread pieces to fit the dish and added a bit more butter to the slices. It was very good and the bread was fluffy! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Very good dish. I used french bread and only put broccoli on half of it, as per my children. I added chopped onions to the whole thing. When I pulled it out of the refrigerator in the morning, I had my doubts. It looked like a mess. But after baking it, we all changed our minds. It was delicious!!! Even my 13 year old son liked it. And that's something. Very good and easy. I recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Great recipe Linda! I used sausage instead of bacon and I only used 10 eggs. I wouldn't dream of making this without the broccoli ~ it makes the casserole! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Very easy basic breakfast casserole! You can modify this based on your family's tastes. I used half breakfast sausage and half bacon along with the broccoli. I also used more cheese than was called for. I made this and just baked it right away instead of refrigerating overnight. I did find that flattening everything down with a spatula before baking helped to soak all the egg mixture in with the bread. Maybe not the fanciest dish ever, but definitely good. I served this with fruit salad for dinner. Easy and economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I really liked the brocolli addition. I used wheat bread and the variety I used would only allow almost 6 slices. Maybe less eggs and more cheese next time. Now my favorite breakfast casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very good. I used frozen chopped broccoli, turkey bacon, uncooked and no cheese and it tasted really good. My 18 mo. old snarfed it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I just wanted to say, "I loved it." Actually, I cook for a residential facility which houses 15 people and they all loved it too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Great but broccoli is not a breakfast food. I used 8 oz of sausage instead of bacon so it would be meatier. Try adding a can of cream of mushroom soup and a dash or 2 of either hot sauce or cayenne pepper. I also broke the bread in pieces which seems to work better. I liked the idea of combining pepper jack and cheddar cheeses and it tasted really good. Took 2 large pans to a ladies retreat and both were gone in a jiffy! I used low carb bread (4 slices torn up covered the bottom of pan) for my family who are continually on a low carb diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSTSELLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States