Breakfast Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was a great base recipe. I did make changes based on other reviews. Instead of broccoli I added fresh spinach and also cooked onions and mushrooms with the sausage. I cooked about 6 slices of bacon and added it to the mix. I used 2 cups of cheese. It turned out great. Reheated well the next morning, too. Definitely recommend this. I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't stay completely true to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I realy enjoyed this meal. I did make some changes to make it healthier. I used three cups of egg whites which is the equivelent to 12 eggs. I also, used 6 pieces of bread instead of 8. I used low fat chedder cheese. And I added some onion and green peppers. I thought it was delicious and it makes the meal alot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was a great, easy and tasty recipe. I used Gruyere cheese instead of cheddar, 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk and added some caramelized shallots for extra flavor. I also added about 1/2 cup of mayo to the egg mixture. Certainly not low in fat or calories but worth it for the taste and texture. I brought it to a brunch and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BstnBny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
great easy recipe. I made it a day ahead of time & kept it in the fridge & cooked it for New Years brunch...so many compliments. It baked up perfectly. I did make my own arrangement by adding mushrooms & spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made this for our Sunday family breakfast before church. It was so easy to just put it in the oven in the morning. I made it the night before. It was beautiful, tasted amazing, and the texture was fantastic. Everyone loved it and had seconds. I had to modify the recipe slightly. I didn't have any brocoli, so I used chopped spinach instead. I also added 1/2 cup chopped onions (my family is into onions). It was perfect. I will definately make this again! I served this with a fresh fruit salad and fresh streusel topped blueberry muffins from this site. It was all a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I thought this was a great recipe, but my husband thought I used too much bread. The bread we buy is more of the upscale whole grain type, which is bigger than plain white sandwich bread, so 8 slices more more than covered the bottom of the pan. In order to make it even, I used more like 10 slices, which made 2 layers of bread instead of a single layer lining the bottom. No one else complained (I served it to friends for brunch) but my husband says he didn't love it. We also substituted lean cubed ham for the bacon. I thought the whole thing was great, but next time I will use closer to 6 slices of bread and make sure I only have one layer on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This was a tasty, savory way to use up old bread. I cut the bread into chunks, and skipped the butter. I used vegetarian hot dogs instead of bacon and was more generous with both the "meat" and the broccoli. It was a good dish, but a bit bland. I think next time I'd brown some onion and garlic with the hot dogs or add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
made this for a scrapbooking week end with the girls didn't read the recipe correctly and didn't make the night before but it turned out great putting right into the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Perfect casserole for a holiday morning... salty (bacon) and cheesy, I loaded it with extra fresh broccoli. A bit hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Great Casserole! Used spicy sausage instead of bacon and doubled the amount to 16 oz. Also cut the eggs down to 9. Served with hot syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States