Breakfast Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
This is my recipe, I now use 1 pound of bacon, crumbled, a bag of frozen baby broccoli florets (no need to defrost), and 2-4 cups of cheese, the rest of the recipe is the same, it makes it better. I am so glad you like it, it is so easy and fool proof. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this for Christmas breakfast, and it was a hit. I did make a few changes after reading other reviews. I cut the bread into cubes before lining the bottom of pan. Substituted about 12oz of sausage for broccoli, and added some diced ham. I cheated and used the "real bacon pieces" instead of frying and crumbling my own. Put all together the night before and popped into the oven in the morning. It was perfect! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This recipe moved from 4 to 5 stars following Linda K's recommedations to boost the bacon and cheese. With the second preparation of this recipe, I layered the bread with broccoli first, then bacon, and finally the cheese. This seemed to hold the ingredients in place and the broccoli did not "crisp" and dry out. Excellent reheated the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
The first time I made this recipe, I liked the make-ahead convenience, but to be honest, the taste was very bland. Also, I couldn't fit 8 slices of bread into a 9x13 pan without overlapping them (I'm surprised no one else mentioned this). So I modified the recipe as follows. I reduced the bread to 6 slices (even with only 6, they still went up the sides of the pan a little) - soft breads are good because they absorb the egg mixture and bake up nice and fluffy (I used a soft, fresh whole-wheat bread). Then I greatly increased the cheese and meat (to 2 cups and 24 oz., respectively) and reduced the eggs to 8, because I prefer a less "eggy" taste. I also used Dijon mustard (instead of dry mustard) and upped it to about 1/4 cup. After these modifications, the result was much more satisfying and flavorful, in my opinion. The generous measure of bacon, plus the added plenty of flavor to make your taste buds say "Wow!" You could also use ham - anything that is very flavorful - just be sure to use plenty. Normally I'm not a big meat or cheese eater, but in this recipe, you really need it or the casserole is very blah. The original measurement of meat (8 ounces) just got overwhelmed by all the eggs and bread - I couldn't even taste it. Increasing the meat, cheese, and mustard and reducing the eggs and bread made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This is a great casserole! I added 1/2 t. onion and 1/8 t. garlic powder and increased the dry mustard powder 1/2 t. and also substituted frozen hashbrowns for the broccoli (for my picky husband) and increased the cheese by about a cup or so. It turned out fantastic! I wasn't sure about putting the bread slices in whole- my other strata recipes have you rip the bread into pieces- but it turned out great and was one less step! I also cooked the bacon in the microwave which makes it even easier! It's also very kid friendly- my 3 year old daughter has been asking when we can have it again. Great recipe- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This got so many good reviews that I thought it would be a sure thing, but I'm sorry we just did not enjoy this at all. Made this because I was cooking for a crowd and it did make a lot. The bread made the texture of the dish spongy, the bacon got soggy, the cheese burned, it tasted pretty bland, and hubby said the "the broccoli doesn't go." Just overall was not received well by anyone. I would have been better off making scramble or breakfast burritos. Who knows maybe it was the cook that was at fault? I will say that I followed the recipe to the tee though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great to make when you have left over broccoli. I added some hash browns - yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizhess
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I divided this recipe between 2 8x8 pans.....made one with sausage (no brocolli) and the other with brocolli (no meat) Both were a big hit with my family Christmas morning! thanks for a great recipe. (I used potato bread...yumm!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Very good dish. I used french bread and only put broccoli on half of it, as per my children. I added chopped onions to the whole thing. When I pulled it out of the refrigerator in the morning, I had my doubts. It looked like a mess. But after baking it, we all changed our minds. It was delicious!!! Even my 13 year old son liked it. And that's something. Very good and easy. I recommend it to everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Very easy basic breakfast casserole! You can modify this based on your family's tastes. I used half breakfast sausage and half bacon along with the broccoli. I also used more cheese than was called for. I made this and just baked it right away instead of refrigerating overnight. I did find that flattening everything down with a spatula before baking helped to soak all the egg mixture in with the bread. Maybe not the fanciest dish ever, but definitely good. I served this with fruit salad for dinner. Easy and economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States