Breakfast Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I really liked the brocolli addition. I used wheat bread and the variety I used would only allow almost 6 slices. Maybe less eggs and more cheese next time. Now my favorite breakfast casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very good. I used frozen chopped broccoli, turkey bacon, uncooked and no cheese and it tasted really good. My 18 mo. old snarfed it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I just wanted to say, "I loved it." Actually, I cook for a residential facility which houses 15 people and they all loved it too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
Great but broccoli is not a breakfast food. I used 8 oz of sausage instead of bacon so it would be meatier. Try adding a can of cream of mushroom soup and a dash or 2 of either hot sauce or cayenne pepper. I also broke the bread in pieces which seems to work better. I liked the idea of combining pepper jack and cheddar cheeses and it tasted really good. Took 2 large pans to a ladies retreat and both were gone in a jiffy! I used low carb bread (4 slices torn up covered the bottom of pan) for my family who are continually on a low carb diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSTSELLS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
This was ok. I left out the brocoli, but I do not see that adding that much to it. Probablly will not make again. Thanks though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmaandAvasmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Very easy. I make this all the time and it is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
I always make this for overnight guests..a BIG hit.Everyone loves it and always requests for the recipe.I use a whole lb. of bacon and a whole box of frozen chopped broccoli (cooked in microwave). For Christmas breakfast I serve this with the "clone of a cinnabon" recipe. Awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANITA66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
The first time I made this recipe, I liked the make-ahead convenience, but to be honest, the taste was very bland. Also, I couldn't fit 8 slices of bread into a 9x13 pan without overlapping them (I'm surprised no one else mentioned this). So I modified the recipe as follows. I reduced the bread to 6 slices (even with only 6, they still went up the sides of the pan a little) - soft breads are good because they absorb the egg mixture and bake up nice and fluffy (I used a soft, fresh whole-wheat bread). Then I greatly increased the cheese and meat (to 2 cups and 24 oz., respectively) and reduced the eggs to 8, because I prefer a less "eggy" taste. I also used Dijon mustard (instead of dry mustard) and upped it to about 1/4 cup. After these modifications, the result was much more satisfying and flavorful, in my opinion. The generous measure of bacon, plus the added plenty of flavor to make your taste buds say "Wow!" You could also use ham - anything that is very flavorful - just be sure to use plenty. Normally I'm not a big meat or cheese eater, but in this recipe, you really need it or the casserole is very blah. The original measurement of meat (8 ounces) just got overwhelmed by all the eggs and bread - I couldn't even taste it. Increasing the meat, cheese, and mustard and reducing the eggs and bread made it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Very yummy. Didn't use the broccoli--instead used maple sausage--would cut down a little on that the next time though. Will add some onions and gr. peppers next time for a little "zip!" Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
This was a very easy recipe to make. I made it about 4 hours ahead of time and then just popped it in the oven. I found the time and ingriedent measurements to be right on. I will be making it again but I think I will add some sauted onions and peppers to give it just a little more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States