Breakfast Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made this for our Sunday family breakfast before church. It was so easy to just put it in the oven in the morning. I made it the night before. It was beautiful, tasted amazing, and the texture was fantastic. Everyone loved it and had seconds. I had to modify the recipe slightly. I didn't have any brocoli, so I used chopped spinach instead. I also added 1/2 cup chopped onions (my family is into onions). It was perfect. I will definately make this again! I served this with a fresh fruit salad and fresh streusel topped blueberry muffins from this site. It was all a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I thought this was a great recipe, but my husband thought I used too much bread. The bread we buy is more of the upscale whole grain type, which is bigger than plain white sandwich bread, so 8 slices more more than covered the bottom of the pan. In order to make it even, I used more like 10 slices, which made 2 layers of bread instead of a single layer lining the bottom. No one else complained (I served it to friends for brunch) but my husband says he didn't love it. We also substituted lean cubed ham for the bacon. I thought the whole thing was great, but next time I will use closer to 6 slices of bread and make sure I only have one layer on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This was a tasty, savory way to use up old bread. I cut the bread into chunks, and skipped the butter. I used vegetarian hot dogs instead of bacon and was more generous with both the "meat" and the broccoli. It was a good dish, but a bit bland. I think next time I'd brown some onion and garlic with the hot dogs or add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
made this for a scrapbooking week end with the girls didn't read the recipe correctly and didn't make the night before but it turned out great putting right into the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oconto Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Perfect casserole for a holiday morning... salty (bacon) and cheesy, I loaded it with extra fresh broccoli. A bit hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Great Casserole! Used spicy sausage instead of bacon and doubled the amount to 16 oz. Also cut the eggs down to 9. Served with hot syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Pretty darn good. I don't even like broccoli, and this recipe made it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I made this for Christmas breakfast, and it was a hit. I did make a few changes after reading other reviews. I cut the bread into cubes before lining the bottom of pan. Substituted about 12oz of sausage for broccoli, and added some diced ham. I cheated and used the "real bacon pieces" instead of frying and crumbling my own. Put all together the night before and popped into the oven in the morning. It was perfect! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
We liked this, but definitely want to make some changes. Maybe some green onion and bell pepper. The idea is good, and the dish is easy, but it was just a bit bland for us. I'll certainly make it again, but with a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This got so many good reviews that I thought it would be a sure thing, but I'm sorry we just did not enjoy this at all. Made this because I was cooking for a crowd and it did make a lot. The bread made the texture of the dish spongy, the bacon got soggy, the cheese burned, it tasted pretty bland, and hubby said the "the broccoli doesn't go." Just overall was not received well by anyone. I would have been better off making scramble or breakfast burritos. Who knows maybe it was the cook that was at fault? I will say that I followed the recipe to the tee though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States