Breakfast Burritos with Green Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I have not tried this recipe, but on certain weekends I get together with friends and we do a breakfast club; sort of a Saturday Brunch, I am always tasked with the chorizo and fried potato burritos, I use 3 medium russet potato's and a pound and a half of pork chorizo; I live in Arizona and the sausage I get from a little Mexican lady that makes it fresh at home; she learned the recipe from her mom many years ago, it is a little drive, but the chorizos is so fresh! My dad got it from her mom and I am carrying on the tradition. Pity the fool who gets their chorizo from a store. By the way my 12 inch flour tortillas are made at a restaurant called Carolina's and they are still warm when I pick them up!!!!!! The rating is for my burritos not this imitation Mexican ffod
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Unfortunatly I forgot to buy chorizo at the store, which I know would have made this recipe even tastier. However, even without the chorizo it was awesome! I did use a little less chili pepper because I got the full throttle hottest green salsa on the market. I also added store bough corn relish. I think this was better than food truck vendors for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanene Wilmut

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
These were good, but found them to be lacking a little something. Easy & cheap to make, and the kids gobbled them up. I did add chopped onions when I cooked the potatoes and topped the mixture with a mexican cheese blend when served in the tortilla. Next time I will add some corn and maybe serve with some sour cream on top... it was just missing "something". Thanks for the starter recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
do not used sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
really really good... love the cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Yummy and easy to make to your liking. I use bacon instead of chorizo and tossed in fresh chopped tomatoes at the very end of cooking time. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The original recipe as written definitely has a high fat and calorie content, but being both more health conscious AND a lover of Mexican/New Mexican food, I used it as a starting point and tweaked it to our dietary needs. First, I used only 1 medium sized Yukon Gold potato (they are the lowest in carbs), and used egg substitute to cut fat and cholesterol. I use either veggie chorizo or ground chicken chorizo, depending on what's available, which is similar in flavor and texture, but is so much lower in fat and calories. I skipped the cream cheese, because we don't care for the texture and substitute monterey jack or queso fresco. Finally, I use "fajita size" tortillas, in place of burrito sized, because we just don't want that large of a meal. I admit, it's not the original recipe I've described, but, it's quite tasty with the replacements, and I don't feel guilty about about enjoying one of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These burritos are delicious! For those of you complaining about the calorie content, just simply don't make them I don't know why you have to make such a big deal over a recipe! Thanks Seattle Dad for a terrific recipe. It's nice to splurge once in awhile!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
i thought it was odd that the picture showed CORN tortillas and the recipe called for FLOUR tortillas. i used corn and they were awesome! will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
These are yummy. Never tried it with cream cheese before! In the past, we've made these when camping and used pepper jack cheese instead. Garden fresh diced tomatoes are great in these, too! If you use smaller tortillas, and add more chorizo, it's enough to feed a group of hungry campers! I hate to admit this, but an icy cold beer goes great with these, even if it is morning! Try a bloody mary w/ a chaser! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States