Breakfast Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made these, but I wanted chocolate brownies. so i added 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
My kids and I love these on busy mornings! They get a quick, portable breakfast that is healthy. Even with chocolate chips and regular milk they beat a Pop-Tart. We like them so much that I just put all the dry ingredients into Mason jars and made them Christmas presents for the health conscience. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hikermrsblood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Kids said they were too dry and refused to eat them; hubbie thought the oats were too "hard"! He and I enjoyed the flavor; I did add the 1/2 cup cocoa for a chocolate touch. Might try again, but will probably cook or soak oats to soften them and double egg & milk for a moister brownie, I hope! If I do make them again, will report back. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feedmyfella
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I really love this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly but added chocolate chips and cooked it in an 8 x 8 pan since I didn't have an 8 x 10. Probably will cook it in a smaller pan all the time since it made the brownies thicker which was perfect. Was good for me and tasted good. My 20 month old liked it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Twinmommie
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I added the extra ingredients (1/2 c cocoa, 1/2 c chocolate chips and 1/4 c oil) and it came out great. It's very hearty, moist and not overly sweet. I used whole wheat pastry flour and regular milk. As with regular brownies, it goes great with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great result....I used soy milk and splenda brown sugar as well as regular flour. I did add 1/3 cup oil and they were moist and chewy. I also added 1/3 c cocoa and melted a few chocolate chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Not bad. I used skim milk and regular flour and it worked fine. This does taste "healthy" with a nutty, somewhat grainy and bran sort of feel, so if you've got people used to white bread and sweets, not sure it will pass, but most of my coworkers liked this. A few loved it and ate several pieces. It's pretty hearty and tastes a little nutty--probably due to the flax seeds--even without any nuts. This is a really quick thing to bake up. Good thing, since I decided at the last minute to make this for work. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a solid recipe that can easily be altered to suit anyone's taste. I'll sub out the brown sugar next time, and my husband suggested adding strawberries to compliment the banana. My favorite thing about this recipe is that the result is very kid-friendly. A great and moderately healthy finger food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Can something be called a brownie without chocolate or carob? I added 1/2 cup of unsweetened dark chocolate powder and 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips. I used regular all-purpose flour and cow's milk. It was a very good snack and breakfast on-the-run. I may even try it without the chocolate next time. Thanks for the base recipe, Darien1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I didn't have any flax so I added 1/2 cup wheat bran and 1/4 cup fresh coconut; and took other reader's advise and added the 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder. The addition of the ingredients made the mixture too dry so I added more milk (I used almond milk) by 3 tbsps. It all worked :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States