Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by George Michaels
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
My first time to make homemade bread. Made one loaf. I used about 3 cups of flour, 2 table spoons sugar, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 cup of milk, 1/2 cup unsalted butter, and one pouch of fast acting yeast. I didn't use any eggs. This was amazing loaf of bread and my kids loved it! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Michaels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Very dense, not much flavor and it got brittle pretty quickly. Not in love with this one. *Changed it to a 3 star once I tried it as toast...it does toast pretty well and tastes good with butter. I just don't find much use for it as a sandwich bread like the author claims*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This was so simple to make. I actually used my Kitchen Aid in making it and had the prep work done in no time. Once out of the oven half the loaf was gone within 5 mins. The texture is very good not a heavy loaf at all. It reminded me of a cross between a heavier bread and Paska.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Just made it today. It says 7 cups of flour but I only needed 5.5. It's very fluffy and moist. Loved it. Good for sandwiches and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Simple to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipe. Made a couple modifications: replaced the water and milk with acid whey (result of me making ricotta cheese) and used whole wheat flour. Wasn't sure how it was going to work, but came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeecheeH
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
this (to me) is a pretty good bread recipe. it's easy and a beginner like myself can make these. they have a small sweet taste. i really like this recipe and so do my boys:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Esquivel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I read all the reviews and took some adjustments into consideration. It is beyond me how it is even possible that less than 3 cups of liquid can support 7 cups of flour. I followed the directions to the T and after adding the first 3 cups of flour, the dough was already very dense. I tried adding the next 1/2 cup and had trouble kneading it. The other 1/2 cup was even worse to knead in. I finally gave up and placed it in the oven to proof. It stayed in there over night and barely rose the next day. I cut it in half and placed it in two loaf pans and returned it to the oven to proof again. No luck there either. Finally cooked it and it was so dense and bland. Will not make this again. Can someone tell me what I did wrong? My yeast was live and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nanpants
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I cut the recipe in half, but still used 1 whole egg. I lightly brushed the top with salted butter. It turned out wonderfully! Very dense and tasty. I'll be making this one quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States