Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is an excellent bread Makes good toast the 2nd time Imade it added three tsp sugar instead of two and one and a half tsp salt instead of one Makes a big difference in taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This was the first loaf of bread I've ever attempted to make. It was quite easy to do. The bread was dense which is what I was going after for French toast. Cakey. On it's own, it's a bit bland. Otherwise, very nice loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
i made this bread this morning, and found it to be possibly the best loaf of bread i have ever made. this is a superior loaf of white bread,. i have been making bread for forty years, and this one is tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
WONDERFUL tasting bread and toast... Great texture. I used 1 TBS brown sugar and 1TBS white sugar. I used my KitchenAid stand mixer and needed an additional 1/2 C or so of flour to get the proper texture. Thanks for this great bread recipe!!! Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Great! Per another, I used 1 tbls wht sugar and 1 tbls brown sugar. I also added a tsp of cinnamon. Wonderful bread, esspecially with honey! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I found this to be a delicious, hearty bread. My husband loved it. It makes super sandwiches, slices very well, and has no yeasty taste whatsoever. Toasting this bread brings it to life! Try it with breakfast, with sandwiches, or as a bread with dinner - it's perfect anytime. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This is a very simple white bread. It made wonderful bread pudding and french toast but, on it's own, the flavor was a little bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was really simple to make. Not my Favorite tasting bread, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
This bread tastes great and is perfect for a marvelous brunch. However it does take plenty of time to let the bread rise so make sure you have the time. I especially liked it right pout of the oven!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esterolynn
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I do not bake bread usually. Maybe I have baked bread 5 or 6 times in my life with varing results. I have been cooking for almost 60 years. I liked the looks of this recipe and, so, I baked this bread today. I only used 6 cups of flour (bread flour) because I felt it came together at 6 cups (I do not think I could have put in 7 cups) and used salted butter omitting the salt. It needs some salt. I am so pleased with this bread. It came out of the oven just perfect and the crumb is beautiful. It is a dense, toasting kind of bread and I will be making it again very soon. Next time I will use the dough hook on my mixer...much easier I would guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States