Breakfast Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
To me, this was more like a 7-layer/magic cookie bar only not as sweet and a tad bit healthier with the whole wheat flour and wheat germ. They were wonderful right out of the oven and also good cold. We enjoyed them as a snack, but I'm not sure I would serve them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These are incredible!!! Too sweet for me to eat for breakfast but perfect for any other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Loved this recipe! Great for breakfast or snack....just heat in microwave 10-15 sec and enjoy! Only change I made was adding an extra egg (use 5 instead of 4). Thanks for this sweet and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great cookie bar recipe! (I won't be eating this for breakfast, except maybe on holidays.) :) I didn't have quite enough of each ingredient so made these subs: In place of 1 c butter, used 1/2 stick of butter + 1/4 cup Smart Balance spread. In place of whole wheat flour (I was out), used tapioca flour. In place of 1/2 c wheat germ, used 1/2 cup All Bran Buds softened in coconut milk (the moisture of which helped make up for the smaller amount of butter). Used equal amounts pecans and coconut (1.5 cups each) because I really love coconut. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERRADANCE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These are absolutely amazing! They are definitely sweet but totally delicious, definitely worth a try :-) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skinnymanda1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Agassiz, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I have made these many times and love them! I like to freeze them and then eat cold with something warm to drink. I prefer walnuts instead of the pecans and mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I changed a few ingredients to use what I had on hand--almonds & walnuts instead of pecans, mix of white & semi morsel chips, and addition of dried cranberries. I also added an extra egg. My kids and I think they're delicious, but the calories (nearly 300 per small bar) are killer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I wanted to make some snacks to put in the freezer and tried this one. They are YUMMY! I somehow managed to forget to put the oats in, and used almonds instead as a personal preference. I tried one last night and it was tasty as a dessert, but it seems just substantial enough to eat in the morning on the run. I will make these again (next time with the oats)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Not bad, I liked the two different textures. Crust has a little too much wheat flavor for me(but I loved it before it was cooked!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulike26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Very yummy but the bottom was crumbly which made it messy to eat. I substituted ground flax for the wheat germ and it still was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States