Breadless Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Nice low-carb addition instead of the real stuff! I added waterchesnuts to the veggies. I also used poultry seasoning instead of sage, and added onion powder. I didn't add salt bc I try to cook without it. I used about 2/3 cup of low sodium chicken stock instead of water and boullion. I used the flat side of a spoon to smoosh the garbanzo beans and spices together, which seemed to work better (and was cleaner) than using my hands. I found that it needed longer in the oven; I liked it browned on top. Served with turkey tenderloin and green beans. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
We've never been big on bread stuffings, but we love chickpeas, so we decided to give this recipe a try for Thanksgiving. It was a keeper! The leftovers tasted even better the next day. I've already been asked to share the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I made this for my family on Thanksgiving. It was very good. However, if I made it again I would cut down on the amount of sage used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hurricane, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is sooo delicious! It is great to have something so healthy for me that tastes like a food that I would usually try and eat in moderation without it being full of chemical ingredients I can't pronounce. It is a little dryer than stuffing made with bread iw, but it isn't dry in and of itself. I love sage but found it to be a little too strong. Next time I will try using about 3/4 the amount called for. I took another reviewer's advice and used a spoon to mash the beans-- definitely easier this way. Thanks for a great, healthy recipe that will be on my menu at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! I was actually stunned by how true to the real thing this comes out- I would just add pine nuts to give it a little crunch. I'd serve this on Thanksgiving, though, and that's pretty high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was pretty good for what it's intended to be. I like the concept but it wouldn't replace traditional stuffing for me. Not that it needs to do so. The sage was a little heavy for us. I would definitely make this again but perhaps use the seasonings from my regular stuffing recipe rather than so much sage. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I so badly wanted this to be delicious -- or even average. Sadly, it was just not good. I used less sage, but other than that followed the recipe pretty closely and was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I was a little nervous about how this would turn out but I loved the idea of preparing with less calories, carbs, etc. Everyone loved the twist on the traditional dressing/stuffing. This is a great recipe for vegetarians and those who follow a low-carb or South Beach way of life. Thanks! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I thought it was great. I did not use mushrooms, but I did not miss them. I think next time I will add bellpipper. And I did not miss the bread taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Had high expectations since relatives have gone gluten free. It was OK & looked like stuffing but just tasted like a pan of chick peas. Leftovers were formed into patties, fried & served w/ a curry sauce. That was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States