Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
awesome recipe! I did make a couple of changes according to what i had on hand though, but it still came out brilliantly. i'm eating while i type! i "made" the vegetable broth by crumbling a boullion cube in about a cup of water, and let the tofu sit soak while i was mixing the flour. I never measure more accurately than just eyeballing when I cook, but I used about a handful of brown flour (rather than white), and added maybe a tbsp of a curry mix spice (cumin, curry powder, garlic, mustard powder), a large pinch of chili powder, a large pinch of dill, and some fresh ground pepper. i skipped the yeast because i didn't have any (although i am a fan of that stuff). i also didn't add any salt, as boullion cubes are usually loaded with salt already. i used just enough olive oil to coat the bottom of a small frying pan and fried until crispy. yum! and it only took me about 10 minutes in all too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a great way to make tofu more lively! I added extra cayenne ,curry and chili pepper reserving the liquid after taking the tofu out then addng corstartch and making it a sauce with mushrooms ,bean sprouts, onions and scallions in a wok then adding the tofu and serving over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Very good. I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch in place of the yeast. I also added salt at the end. To make the frying easier, I used tongs to flip the pieces of tofu. It was very easy that way to brown all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Great! I served them with quinoa and black beans (from this site) and sprinkled a little soy all over. We both had seconds, and wanted thirds! If you want the tofu a little more dense (than even the extra firm) cut it up, marinade in the veg broth, and stick it in the freezer for a while. You can leave it there for at least a couple weeks, and it becomes more dense. (Freeze in a single layer until frozen) This goes for any tofu recipe, especially those that go on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
My husband downed these tofu nuggets! I did make changes: I used some cornstarch instead of yeast; I also added some garlic powder to the flour. I didn't soak them in broth first so they kept more tofu flavor (my husband loves it). I fried them in a mix of peanut and sesame oil, and we dipped them in 2 sauces--one was a soy sauce/lemon juice mix, and the other was like marinara sauce. They were a yummy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My first attempt at making tofu and it turned out great thanks to this recipe! Per the Mock Chicken recipe I put the tofu in the freezer until a day before I needed it when I let it thaw in the refrigerator instead of simmering it in hot water like the recipe indicated. Wrapped in a dish towel I am able to squeeze out a fair amount of liquid without having to place a heavy object on it like I have seen suggested. I did make the mistake of buying firm instead of extra firm tofu but it did not cause any problems. These turned out great crunchy and tasty on the outside with a chicken like texture on the inside. Definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was excellent! I soaked it in a vegetable broth from a soup the night before, and breaded it with half flour and half onion ring batter mix. We dipped them in a hot and sour sauce and a marinara sauce...made them taste like mozzarella sticks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I made this last night and it was wonderful - it made the tofo a perfect consistency - fried just enough so that the tofu wasn't too, well, "tofu-ey". Perfect blend of spices. I served it over a bed a mashed potatoes with a great mushroom sauce. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. The tofu has a nice crispy outer breading with a soft, chewy center. I didn't have nutritional yeast so I substituted cornstarch as another reviewer suggested. I made this for my boyfriend and myself (I'm a vegetarian, he isn't) and we both loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitewood, Virginia, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I made this for my non-tofu eating friends, and they all loved it and want the recipe. It's become one of my favorite ways to cook Tofu, and tastes lovely dipped in plain yogurt. A tip for nutritional yeast - I found it in the beauty section at Whole Foods in large cans, but apparently it's also available in the bulk section where you can buy it by weight. Enjoy - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States