Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I made this for my kids because they love tofu (I hate it) and they ate every last bit. I backed off a little bit on the cayenne, but otherwise I made it as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corpman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
None of us really liked it. My daughter (3) kept calling it "eggs". Thats exactly what the texture inside was like. We've been eating Veg a few months and tofu numerous times. We will not be making this again. It was hard to get down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Very yummy. I would use a deep fryer on these next time tho. The breading kept sticking to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wentworth Falls, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made it for friends who aren't usually enthusiastic tofu eaters and they liked them too. I used extra firm tofu. The only unfortunate thing was that I was unable to find nutritional yeast at my local grocery store so I had to leave it out. I'll keep looking for some and look forward to trying this recipe with the yeast. My brother is a strict vegetarian and LOVES nutritional yeast on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm pretty new to cooking with tofu and have been experimenting lately - this was a simple but delicious recipe. The kick of spiciness and crisp, light breading hit the spot. I didn't have the yeast either, so I substituted store-bought Italian-seasoned breadcrumbs, which worked fine. (I also had chicken broth to use up, so I sub'd it for the veggie.) The sticks would probably be great as an appetizer or snack with a cool, cucumber dip such as tzatziki sauce, which would complement the zestiness, or served on top of a salad. My boyfriend and I actually incorporated them into a fondue night using another contributor's recipe for Basic Fondue (but with beer instead of milk). I recommend this as a quick and easy way to do tofu and will likely try it again, playing with the spices next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I've recently stopped eating pork, beef, and chicken and I'm making an effort to serve less meat to my family. This recipe fills the meat void. I followed the recipe as written and ended up with browned crispy nuggets that were really tasty. As others have stated, a sauce is needed. I mixed ketchup, soy and rooster paste for a spicey dipping sauce that was excellent. Next time I'll try a dipping sauce from this site. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe was alright. We are not big tofu eaters but if in a pinch i will make it again. I did have to add curry, chili powder and cut the salt in half to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Yum! Makes a nice crunchy outer crust with a wonderful sage flavor. I added a tsp of garlic powder but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AprilT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I WAS REALLY EXCITED TO TRY THIS. I found it difficult to keep the breading on while frying. Idealy the taste was good, but the presentation was a mess and quite a hassle. Won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bevier French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
So this went down really well with my kids.To make it extra crispy i used cornflake crumbs as well.I also dipped the slices in egg before as the crumbs just fell off. I added a whole bunch of herbs as well as garlic powder. They did taste a little plain..I think i might marinade them in b'que sauce next time and see how that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States