Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Really good. I found they needed a little salt after frying but thats just personal taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was my firsti time trying tofu period and it was great thanks to this recipe! I substituted the spices to my preference and what I had in my cupboard. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I only used curry with the flour and did not use nutritional yeast. I made a sweet chilli dipping sauce that went perfectly. I took thai chilli paste, added a little rice vinegar, some minced garlic, a pinch of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
A relatively alternative to chicken nuggets! I skip the yeast, use chicken broth, and much less cayenne. I also use much more oil to fry them (no deep-frying in that they are not completely submerged, but I usually use about 1/8 in. in the bottom of the pan). Quick and easy---definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I used a homemade garlicy vegetable stock, and the outcome was very good! I served this with mashed potatoes, sauted green beans & mushroom gravy. Vegan comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Good. I may add more spices next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Good recipe. Tofu turned out very crispy and had good flavor. Used Parmesan cheese instead of nutritional yeast as didn't have any on hand. Okay, so not vegan, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Not a typical tofu eater. Tried this recipe because we are trying to incorporate less meat and more protein foods into our diet. Plus my youngest is allergic to pretty much everything. I altered a little with rice flour & used cornstarch. no cayenne pepper. They came out crispy and needing a little salt but good. I will probably use a soy sauce/ lemon mixture to dip them into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
So good! This is about the only way that I cook tofu anymore. I simplify it a little bit by freezing the tofu before thawing it to use (for a better texture). After being pressed & cut into strips, I bread it in a mix of flour, garlic powder, & chili powder that I kind of eyeball and fry it in a bit of olive oil. When done cooking, I throw it in a bowl, pour some sauce over top, cover it with a lid, and toss to coat. YUM! The biggest hits have been Sweet Baby Ray's mild buffalo sauce & Panda Express' orange sauce. Serve with some rice & you've got a great, filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferlstout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This tofu was AMAZING. I added considerably more spices than it called for, but I like a good zing in my food. One thing you should note is that unless you press out a LOT of the vegetable broth, the tofu will be very squishy on the inside. To de-squishify it, either press out more liquid OR freeze it for a few hours OR bake it at a low heat for 10-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States