Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
awesome recipe! I did make a couple of changes according to what i had on hand though, but it still came out brilliantly. i'm eating while i type! i "made" the vegetable broth by crumbling a boullion cube in about a cup of water, and let the tofu sit soak while i was mixing the flour. I never measure more accurately than just eyeballing when I cook, but I used about a handful of brown flour (rather than white), and added maybe a tbsp of a curry mix spice (cumin, curry powder, garlic, mustard powder), a large pinch of chili powder, a large pinch of dill, and some fresh ground pepper. i skipped the yeast because i didn't have any (although i am a fan of that stuff). i also didn't add any salt, as boullion cubes are usually loaded with salt already. i used just enough olive oil to coat the bottom of a small frying pan and fried until crispy. yum! and it only took me about 10 minutes in all too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Absolutely delicious! As someone who seems to rarely like vegan dishes (but tries hard to be a vegan anyway), let me tell you: you will LOVE these yummy little tofu bites! They are absolutely delicious; my cats even like them (and my cats NEVER like any of my vegan dishes). I soaked the tofu in the veggie broth before slicing it for about a half hour, and then cut them and soaked them for another ten. Yum! I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a great way to make tofu more lively! I added extra cayenne ,curry and chili pepper reserving the liquid after taking the tofu out then addng corstartch and making it a sauce with mushrooms ,bean sprouts, onions and scallions in a wok then adding the tofu and serving over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Good substitute for fried chicken, and I got none of that "tofu-y taste." Not a really, really healthy recipe, but definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I think I must have not had the oil hot enough because by the time my tofu was golden brown it was also quite rubbery. I will try again because this has the potential to be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Excellent and easy! I Did make a few minor adjustments - omitted soaking in the broth. Instead dipped the tofu in egg and rolled in breading. (I added some onion powder to the breading.) Make sure to fry long enough to crisp the outside. I served it with the ginger dipping sauce from this site. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I added ginger & garlic powder to the veggie broth and corn starch instead of the yeast and they were great... Hubby wants to try adding bread crumbs to the breading mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harpursville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was excellent! I soaked it in a vegetable broth from a soup the night before, and breaded it with half flour and half onion ring batter mix. We dipped them in a hot and sour sauce and a marinara sauce...made them taste like mozzarella sticks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I really liked thisdish. The coating was very tasty, though the kids didn't like the texture of the tofu. Next time I think I will try freezing the tofu to give it a meaty texture. I went a little heavy on the seasoning and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cardell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States