Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I'm usually sceptical about tofu recipes but I was very happy that it turned out so well. I don't like changing a recipe the first time but I did two things different. First I cut and froze the tofu for 45 min. I guess it is supposed to help the cosistancy of the tofu. The other thing was I used rosemary instead of sage because I didn't have sage. These turned out so great that my tofu hating husband acutally tasted them and thought they were "not terrible" :) and my 6 yr old son wanted some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I didn't have nutritional yeast but this still turned out really yummy. Thanks. Make double...it goes fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
mmmm.. yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This was a really great recipe! I was trying to find a way to make tofu crispy and it worked. The only thing I would have changed is to have a zestier breading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was great! I was pleasantly surprised. It was easy and fairly fast. I had no sage so I used thyme. The kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Good but not amazing. You could sort of taste the flour. This recipe would be useful in preparing tofu for the tofu parmigiana recipe which is also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
First time I've ever used tofu and I loved it. I tried to replicate a recipe I had in Beijing. This wasn't quite right, but it definately satisfied the craving! It's great with the sweet chili Thai sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JORDANTHEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have tried tofu in this fashion over an over, this was by far the best recipe. I can't have wheat or yeast, so I used rice flour, and used garlic powder and chili powder. It was fantastic, the closest I'll get to good fried fare until I can reintroduce more foods to my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is a great base to start from for fried tofu! I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand so I used what I had and it still turned out great!! I just used the flour, cornstarch (instead of yeast) and cayenne pepper. It flavored it just right and next time I will definately be adding the rest of the original ingredients. I have been wanting to eat a little more tofu in my diet and I'm glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is a delicious way to make tofu. I used to make it with bread crumbs but I needed lots of egg before and after the crumbs to make them stick and to get it to fry right. This way is much better because the coating is finer and sticks much better. I didn't use broth, just the tofu juice. I used tofu that had been frozen and thawed in the fridge so it was 'meaty'. I didn't need to press it, just squeezed it out a little before breading. It turned out really well and tasted great with chile dipping sauce. My husband used plum sauce and my son used ketchup. All were tasty. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States