Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Delicious! I made two minor changes: I skipped the salt, as I used regular, not low-sodium, veggie broth, so that was plenty of salt for my taste. I also tripled the pepper, just because I love fresh ground black pepper and almost always add more than the amount called for to recipes. I served it with a side of sesame rice noodles and everyone loved it--a real crowd pleaser! I will most definitely be making this again! Thanks so much for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I would definitely add more seasonings to this next time. The texture was okay- but I would pan fry it before I breaded it to add to the crunchy texture. I didn't fry it though- I baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Tried this recipe b/c tofu was on sale. The tofu was crispy and better than any I've made before! I should've read more reviews before trying. I wish I had put more seasoning in the flour. I will make this again, but I'll up the spice ratios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I had some tofu on hand that was going out of date and needed to make something. This recipe was a great use of it...I didn't have the yeast, but used some corn starch with the flour and spice mixture. I liked the results of this recipe, a good way to get some extra protein and the only fat was the small amount of oil used for frying. I dipped in a soy sauce/red chili pepper combo. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Thought this was okay. Might try it again with smaller cubes and make the breading spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This was amazing! We are huge tofu fans, anyways, but this is our new favorite. We couldn't find the nutritional yeast, but it tasted great without it. Also, next time we'll omit the extra salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I cut the tofu into small half inch square bites and baked it for 15 minutes or so and then soaked in vegetarian vegetable broth, rolled in spices and fried. The result was very nice and crispy and definately had noticable flavor but needed something just right to go with it. I tried light sour cream as a dip (didn't have plain yogurt) but it washed out the flavor even more. After a little hunting I found the Peanut Sauce I recipe at this site and it was AMAZING paired with this. The sauce is super quick, easy and yummy - i subbed honey for molasses and soy sauce for tamari and didn't have to go out to buy a thing. Anyways, thanks for a good base spicy, crunch tofu recipe. I'm sure I will make again when I need a meat substitute for any spicy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Wow, this is the best tofu I've ever made! Thanks for the great recipe. I used the tofu to add to a vegetarian thai basil fried dish I made--great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Delicious! The instructions are for 1/2 by 1/2 inch sticks, but the pictures show cubes, and I think that would work better for dipping. I rarely fry food, so I wasn't sure what heat to use, but I tried high and it worked fine. Just be careful if you do multiple batches not to let the burnt breading that stays in the pan get on your fresh sticks! This will definitely be a new tofu standby for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
My husband probably would've eaten the whole package of tofu by himself! This was a really good way to eat tofu, and it got just crunchy enough on the outside. I used more oil than called for, unfortunately. I'll try to cut back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States