Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This recipe was amazing! If you want to add an extra kick and you're a health freak try cutting up some kale, bell pepper, green onions and even serrano peppers and cooking it wwith the tofu. It turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Wheat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I am a first time reviewer, but I had to say these were unreasonably delicious! I have been wanting a good substitute for fried chicken and this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Good recipe. Don't leave out the nutritional yeast. Nutritional yeast is not equivalent to corn starch. It is cheesy, buttery and rich and adds a lot of flavor to the breading. If you are going to add corn starch swap out the flour for corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This tasted almost exactly like McDonald's chicken nuggets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Mixed this with sweet and sour sauce and it was an absolute hit with my hubby who normally hates tofu.. Will be making many times over, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by evilcupcake21
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I cut the tofu into triangles and made a sesame dipping sauce and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
the name "softly spiced" is exactly what it was.. but unfortunately it translated into bland for me.. maybe it's bc i didn't soak the tofu in the broth i'm not sure.. but that's why i'm giving it a 3 star rating and nothing less.. i could have gotten away with a lot less flour and a lot more spices.. maybe the key is that you NEED to have a dipping sauce.. maybe if the poster included a recipe with a dipping sauce instead of just mentioning it in the introduction then i'd be less critical.. i used 2 T oil but felt i could have used even less than that.. i substituted 2 T of cornstarch for the yeast as another reviewer suggested.. and the cook time was way off for me.. i'm sure i spent a lot more than 15 min's trying to brown on all sides and i had the flame on as high as it could go.. if anything, this made me very thankful for my thai place up the street
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Sorry I didn't like this. I think it might have tasted better had the tofu marinated in the broth for a longer time. I added cumin, cayenne and garlic powder but it still tasted under seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
My first time cooking tofu and I am hooked. These were simple and very tasty. I may add some Italian breadcrumbs next. Used same recipe with cheese sticks in case these were awful. Surprisingly, the crowd preferred the tofu! Another keeper. Thanks Allrecipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Wow! This was sooo good. I had to slice an orange to munch on so I didn't eat them all right out of the pan. My tofu fell apart while I was pressing it so it wasnt pretty but it didn't even matter! I used them in the vegetarian karma on this website.....all I can say is Holy Moly it was awesome! Even picky kids loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States