Breaded Flounder Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I've been trying to find recipes to hekp me learn to like fish. This one was not it. Too salty for my tastes. Husband and son both like fish and thought this was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Substitute the cornmeal with Italian bread crumbs and you've got yourself a delicious meal. I am surprised how well this came out especially since I really don't care for fish most days. For our side, we had sweet corn on the cob. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My only change was to cut the salt in half and use bread crumbs instead of corn meal. We found it very tasty, but next time I'll still try seasoned salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I cut the salt in half, added old bay seasoning to the corn meal mixture, and a bit of lemon juice to the milk/egg mixture. Make sure you pat the fish dry, and coat the fish well in the dry mix both times to get a nice baked coating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I took the advice of the other reviewers and rinsed & patted dry the fish... I then rubbed them with lemon before starting the breading process. I skipped the salt and instead sprinkled creole seasoning over the finished result before putting in the oven. They were fantastic. Really crispy and flavorful, and made great fish sandwiches. It also made decent chicken fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Everyone put it best -- this is bland. I seasoned the cornmeal breading with Old Bay, garlic and onion powder and it was still bland. The fish itself probably needs seasoning and instead of cornmeal I would use something with a real crunch to it. But I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Loved this recipe! The fish was nice and crispy on the outside but still light and flaky on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Great recipe. Used plaice instead of flounder and olive oil to fry in (didn't need all that much). Left out the parmesan and it was still very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Sorry for the poor rating... but this was just not good at all. I followed the recipe exactly (other than cutting everything in half. I did use frozen flounder but properly thawed it before cooking. The fish came out mushy and the flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimmy IV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Instead of the corn meal and flour, I subbed an equal amount of Italian bread crumb mix. I paid attention to other reviewers who reminded about rinsing in cold water and patting dry.I used much more parmesan, nearly a quarter cup, which I think helped a lot. End result was well flavored, firm textured and very enjoyable. The things I enjoyed about this recipe is it was modestly priced ( I used frozen fillets) and low fat, as well as reasonably easy to prepare, fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States