Breaded Chicken Limone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Some of the reviews of this dish sort of baffle me. It's called breaded chicken LIMONE. To me, that is a sign that the lemon flavor will be prominent. In fact, I wanted an even more prominent flavor so I upped the lemon juice slightly and cut all but a small pinch of the sugar (as other reviewers suggested). With those very minor tweaks, I thought this was a great way to use up half a bag of frozen brussels sprouts that has been lingering in my freezer for ages. My husband can be skeptical of dishes where veggies are prominent, especially when the veggies are brussels sprouts, but even he liked this. And the two-year-old at least tasted the sauce (and liked the breaded chicken). I'd definitely make this again, it's a good winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious! My husband (who is a bit of a food snob) said "excellent!" It made Brussels sprouts good! I loved the touch of cayenne pepper. I did do some things differently after reading the reviews. I only used about 3/4 tbsp lemon juice (what I squeezed from one very small lemon) and 1 cube of sugar. Fresh sprouts too. Didn't flatten chicken. Used almost 3/4 cups of Chardonnay that I had leftover (replacing most of the water). Didn't have Parmesan so I used cheddar. Added a little (like 1 tsp) cream cheese just for kicks. This recipe took a lot of prepping (for me) but was worth it for a yummy dinner. I learned something very valuable with the dipping of the chicken in flour first, too- it makes the egg stick instead of sliding off (like Ive experienced with other recipes). Lastly- I had to sub rice flour and FYI it worked :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is AWFUL! I was embarrassed that I served this to my starving husband last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnny's Baby Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Made this according to the recipe adding only a little wine. My husband loved it and I thought it was great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
We love brussel sprouts, so I was excited to try this recipe. I made as-written (always always always the first time); While the chicken was quite good, we found the sauce to be quite bland. I had to tweak it allot at the end to give it a little flavor, so I'm only rating it 3 stars. Adding fresh saute'd onion and allot of garlic salt to the sauce made it into a nice dinner -- but it's not a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is a delicious and versatile recipe. Like others, I cut back the sugar and used fresh Brussels sprouts. I par boil the sprouts, but I'm not sure it's necessary. I've used this recipe for chicken and salmon. For the salmon I omitted the beans and added artichoke hearts. I also used Panko bread crumbs and tossed in a handful of Gouda cheese along with the Parmesan for both the chicken and the salmon. I plan to try this with some other cheeses such as Gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My boyfriend LOVED this. It is unlike anything we've tasted, and the flavors just melded perfectly. I used half the butter and just used more olive oil in the beginning, and a dash of garlic salt at the end. Seriously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinebeck, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
It was a nice change to dinner but if I do make it again I will leave out the lemon juice since it had an overwhelming taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Yummy! Easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This turned out fabulous. Easy and tasty. I used boneless chicken thighs instead of breasts (I personally think they are more flavorful and cheaper too!) and I used 1/2 white wine 1/2 water. I also used fresh brussel sprouts quartered, about 2.5 cups. Like previous user, I also used just a half teaspoon sugar, just enough to cut the tartness of lemons. Really a tasty dish and interesting use of brussel sprouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States