Breaded Chicken Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
To make buttermilk put 1 cup milk w/ 1 T lemon juice and let sit for 10 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
753 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This was a great recipe. Although I followed the ingredient list, I made mine low fat. Instead of frying, bake the strips on 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until the center is white. Also, I used skim mild instead of buttermilk. Spray the cookie sheet with fat free butter flavored spray and voila! very low fat tenders! If the powder looks like it's not baked golden, don't woory, if the chicken is done, so is the breading. I also added a teaspoon each of rosmary, thyme and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
412 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
I made these today for my husband who orders chicken tenders whenever we go to a restaurant that has them on the menu. I was worried that they wouldn't measure up, but he thought they were quite good for homemade!! The only change I made was that after I shook them in the breadcrumb mixture, I dipped them in a beaten egg and RECOATED them in the leftover breadcrumbs. This made for a thicker, crunchier coating and a MUCH more tender bite to the chicken. (i only know that because i ran out of the crumbs before I could recoat the last 3 so I fried them with only a single dip...they were noticably more chewy) Over all an awesome recipe!! Will do it again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
My kids loved them! I baked them instead of frying and they still turned out crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Excellent...however, as I read the recipe I decided that for my own taste buds I'd prefer a little more seasoning, so I added a little paprika, poultry seasoning and cayenne pepper to the crumb mixture. I also "double dipped" them, repeating with a second coating of the buttermilk mixture and then again in the crumb mixture. These are great with barbecue sauce or Ranch dressing. Good recipe Janet, thanks for sharing it! Update Dec. 2, 2013: This time I made these with Panko bread crumbs and didn't bother to "double dip." Equally as delicious as the first time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I've made these twice now, and tonight I slightly altered the recipe. I used regular milk instead of buttermilk and added 1 Tablespoon of lemon juice. I also made 1 1/2 times the bread crumb mixture. Then I poured off the milk mixture into a separate bowl, dipped the chicken strips in the bread crumb mixture, back into the milk and then back into the bread crumbs, and finally into the oil. This made a nice thick crust on the chicken fingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
These were excellent. I also double-breaded them (I didn't have enough coating to do all of them) and added about 1/2 t. of creole seasoning to the coating. It wasn't too spicy for my 3 and 4 year olds, and gave it a bit more pizzaz. The chicken was unbelievably tender, even considering I marinated them for just under 2 hours. Note that if your oil is very hot, as it should be, it should only take a few minutes per side to cook the breasts; otherwise they will get tough and absorb more grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
After reading some of the reveiws, I'm really not sure what some of the reviewers did wrong because these chicken strips turned out wonderful. Crispy on the outside and moist and tender on the inside. I did add more garlic powder, cayenne pepper and salt to the buttermilk mixture as well as the flour/breadcrumb mixture for more flavor. I also double dipped as many reviewers had suggested with egg first then dredged in the flour/breadcrumb mixture and repeated. They fried easily without breaking apart and my oil looked like it had hardly been used after I was done. I will use this recipe again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Out of the park! These chicken fingers are absolutely yummy! The buttermilk marinade is the key! The breading sticks to the pre-cooked chicken better, if it's kept cold...so I marinated over-night in the buttermilk, and then dredged the chicken in the breading..and put them back in the fridge for 15 minutes or so..and then cooked them off - so tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
When it comes to chicken fingers...I am like a kid at heart! These are sooo good and we all loved them! I only had 1/2 cup bread crumbs so I crushed some Ritz crackers to make a full cup of crumbs. Still, very tasty...crunchy on the outside and moist inside. Great lunch idea and will be making again. Thanks Janet! My daughter thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States