Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was my first bread pudding and it was yummy. I can't speak for other bread puddings but this one was very custardy. I think that the base without the bread would be good on its own or with the addition of coconut. It was good both warm and cold but I prefer it cold while I think my DH prefers warm. I did make the sauce; I added a couple of spoonfuls over the top and then drizzled a spoon on each serving. IMO you don’t need the sauce, it makes it a bit too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this for my mom and she loved it. I choose it because there is no cinamon or nutmeg in it. It is sweet and creamy. You can compare it to a baked french toast. Next time I might try putting some type of fruit in it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I had never made bread pudding so this was a first for me. Let me tell you that this recipe ROCKS!! It is the best bread pudding I have ever had! The sauce that you pour over it is absolutely decadent! This one is a definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayweee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I made just the sauce from this recipe and it was delicious. The sauce wasn't thick enough after cooking it for the original 3 minutes. So, I cooked it about 3 minutes longer than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I used the sauce from this recipe with another recipe for the bread. The sauce is delicious, although I'll probably lower the amount of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
First time was a success. It lasted 1.5 days. I added more bread initially and probably will this time also. Definitely going to reduce milk by 1/2 cup and omit water all together and just reduce baking temperature. I was impressed with it over all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I really liked the sauce... but the texture of the bread pudding threw me off. I liked the flavor, but my grandma's bread pudding was what I was expecting and the "custard" layer on the bottom of this was strange. I might make it again someday, not sure at this point though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I used cinnamon bread and it turned out very sweet. I didn't make the sauce because the kids loved it as is. Next time I will make the sauce, just to try it. I used 2 tsp of vanilla and lots of pum pkin pie spice. Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Delicious! We loved the pudding. The sauce was VERY sweet. I did add nutmeg, and that helped, but next time, I will just double every ingredient except sugar, so I get more sauce, but less sweet. I ended up with to much pudding mix to fit in an 8x8 pan- the rest fit easily into a loaf pan. The water bath method worked really well, and gave the pudding a lovely custard consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made bread pudding, but I've always enjoyed it. This was a great basic recipe. I used a cinnimon apple raisin bread so I cut back on the sugar a bit I also added some extra cinnamon and rasins. I served with an apricot sauce and fresh whipped cream...Delicious! Next time, and there will be a next time! I am going to try the sauce because that sunds really yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States