Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This is the same kind of bread pudding my mother made when we (eight of us) were growing up - more like an egg custard with bread in it. My mother's recipe is very similar. She made a dish for a friend of ours who took it to a church social back in the 1980's. A man liked it so much, he took the dish home and promised to return it. That man was Muhammad Ali, who came to the front door with the dish in his hand, requesting more bread pudding (true story).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
It's pretty good but my pudding fell. Probably because I opted not to use the waterbath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
The pudding was great, exactly as I had hoped it would turn out, I had to cook it about 15 minutes longer than suggested in my oven. The sauce that goes with it was not what i was looking for, I wanted a thicker sauce and did not like the over abundent amount and thinness of this sauce but it did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This is the most delicious bread pudding I've ever tasted. My husband couldn't get enough of it and keeps bugging me to make more. I added all of the sauce into it when it was finished rather than keeping it seperate, and it was still great. Everyone who tasted it loved it and I've had a lot of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is a nice, moist bread pudding. Putting the bread in boiling milk prevents having the chunks of dry bread that sometimes occur with other bread puddings. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, skipped the water bath, and omitted the sauce (I was serving it for lunch, not dessert and wanted to avoid all that sugar and fat). The family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was my first time making bread pudding, and it came out wonderful! My brother is never enthusiastic about anything but he told me he loved the pudding soooo much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
First time making bread pudding...added the cinnamon and nutmeg as was said in reviews, and used the vanilla sauce my mom used to make for chocolate cake. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjmcneiece
Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I found this bread pudding tasteless.I added cinammon to the milk. because it had no flavor at all.I used margarine instead of butter and omitted the salt.Used pure vanilla for the sauce, but it was runny so I added some cornstarch.I had made bread pudding before, and taste much better than this one.I will definetely stick to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manzanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! I doubled it and used a 9x13 pan. I did need to cook it about 15 minutes longer. I used a cinnamon type bread, which gave it a lot of flavor. This recipe is going to be my "go to" recipe for bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe is fabulous and especially easy. I don't have anything to change, except I double my sauce... EVERYONE LOVES this and I am required to make it. :) Kids and adults alike!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Sharp
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States