Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
The best! Highly recommend it as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Wow! This is makes a really great bread pudding. I had a fully packed gallon ziplock bags of regular sliced white bread crusts left over from tea sandwiches I had made for a party I didn't know what to do with, equal to about 6 & 1/2 cups..and yes, even sandwich bread works great here in my opinion. You just need more bread in ratio to the milk. Then modified the recipe based on what I had on hand... 1 c white sugar, 1/2 c brown (per suggestionof other reviewers) 3 c milk, 2 c light cream 2 eggs ( no eggy taste at all) 3 T cinnamon and 1 tsp each of cloves, pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg Popped it in the oven for an hour at 325 degrees in regular stoneware pan...no water bath...and moist and baked all the way through. This comes out dense, but very moist and full off flavor. My husband loved this recipe and can't seem to get enough and have given some to friends who raved to. Thanks for this great recipe! It's very versatile, which makes it easy to use whatever you have and still succeed in making a yummy dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I bought a chocolate babka at a bake sale last weekend, we were going to bring it for mothers day breakfast but forgot it at home. I saw it sitting in the fridge and knew it had to be used or thrown away and I immediately thought to make a bread pudding. This was the first time I've made one and we sure were not disappointed. This was super easy to put together, I ended up having enough to fill a 9x13 Pyrex dish so I baked it in a water bath in my sheet cake pan. I have to admit in was a little worried about the sauce with the cup of sugar, butter and cream but it really topped off the bread pudding perfectly. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Made first time as directed and it was wonderful! The sauce is to die for. The second time I upped the bread to 5 cups as other reviews advised and added raisins and cinnamon. Mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I have made bread pudding my whole life, trying all sorts of recipes and it was always hit or miss, too soupy or too dry. This recipe is beyond simple and the best I have ever eaten. A true delight. Custardly, fragrant, can't wait to dig in. Absolutely the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
First time making bread pudding and this recipe was a home run. I added pineapple (drained & crushed), a bit of cinnamon, and sprinkled a little brown sugar on top and it came out perfect. The sauce put it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I am a bread pudding expert! This is not a good recipe. It's an egg custard with bread, and not a whole lot of substance. The egg taste really came through. The sauce was good but not a lot of flavor, just amazing number of calories. Don't serve it immediately after it comes from the oven. Allow it to cool and "set up," or it will be too wet, like some other reviewers must have discovered. I actually thought it was better cooled substantially. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out beautifully, although next time, I'd cook it perhaps 5 minutes longer. We skipped the water bath. We used Texas toast bread, which is twice as thick as regular bread, and that worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Easy and delicious! I added a half teaspoon of almond to both the pudding and the sauce. Mouth watering. I also found that the water pan was unnecessary, you just get a touch of browning on the edges which I like for the texture anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is the best bread pudding I've ever tasted. I even used a very stale baguette and it still turned out fantastic. It is a bit sweet so the next time I make it I will probably cut back on the sugar that I put in with the bread because the sauce is soooo sweet but sooooooo delicious! Will make it again soon. Must try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States