Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I've been using my own recipe for bread pudding for years now, misplaced it and needed another. I made my pudding from this recipe and I'm glad to say that I lost my old one. This is an easy, tasty recipe. I have some preferences with bread pudding, starting with a sweet bread ( Portuguese is best), adding a fruit ( none handy this time) and always using cinn and sugar. You can't skip the water bath. That's what makes the "custard" set. I haven't scalded milk since the 70's and the recipe still works fine. Enjoy it and Thanks for Sharing Mein
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Ibbotson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Loved it...simple easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I also made this yesterday. The flavor was perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was awesome! The best bread pudding recipe I've tried. I will definitely be making this again. I followed the recipe exactly except for the following. I used 1/2c sugar plus 1/4c spoonable Splenda. I added 1T cinnamon and substituted 1/2c heavy cream for 1/2c of the milk. I also used the larger 8x11 pan, which was a good fit. Mine was almost too sweet while still warm but was perfect chilled. Both taste and texture were fabulous, so much so that I didn't even bother with the sauce - maybe next time. Unlike most that I've tried this one did not have any visible bread chunks, was like pudding or custard. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Made this for a breakfast potluck. Added raisins. Now it's the most requested breakfast item, brunch item, or dessert. It is sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I follow recipe step by step and it was terrible, like luvgod said I wont be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was very good to me. But my family would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Awesome! I used old rolls cut up into cubes, and added raisins. I only had light cream but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was amazing (with a few tweeks). So, I have always loved bread pudding but never had made it. I used the following alterations to the recipe... I used about 5 cups of bread cubes (challah works really well for this and french toast), two extra egg yolks and an 8x11 inch pan. Then for the sauce I used about a cup of cream and added nutmeg and cinnamon. Everyone complimented me on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Wonderful recipe for this delicious comfort food. This is a family favorite. I add a dash of cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and some yellow raisins (the purple ones have an overpowering taste). I put 1/2 tsp of rum in the sauce for a slightly more complex taste. This is going to be a holiday staple for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States