Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
VERY TASTEY!! I have tried many different kinds of bread pudding recipes but I could never find just the right one until today. I did tweek it a little for our taste. I added 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to the bread while it soaked in the milk. Then for the sauce I change it sometimes I will use a tsp of brandy extract or 1 tsp of whiskey or 1 tsp of amaretto. Makes a great change for the sauce. Do not use all of them just one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I made this with Grandma VanDoren's White Bread from this site (fresh, not stale) and used whipping cream in place of heavy. It is heavenly - but there seems to be a lot of sauce? We only needed about half the sauce. Also, to those who complained of this being too moist or soggy on the bottom - it's pudding! Don't expect it to be like bread. It was absolutely perfect when baked about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
This has been the best bread pudding, I have ever made and I have tried several. I agree the sauce makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I probably did something wrong. The whole thing with putting it in another pan or whatever was too much. I had to manipulate it to make it decent. The top was done but underneath it was really runny. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This is so, so, SOOO GOOD! Adding to the favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
This recipe got rave reviews! I did add about 1 TBSP of cinnamon to the egg mixture as my family loves it that way. Also, next time I will try powdered sugar to make the sauce. Mine is always just a little grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This is good. I think something was missing though. I used Safeway bakery old-fashioned dinner rolls and they were good. I think cinnamon and raisins would be good. With the sauce I cut the sugar back to a half cup and it was plenty sweet. I cannot imagine a whole cup of sugar in that sauce. I also had to cook it longer- an hour and 15 or so. It would be better in a larger pan. I used an 8x8 and it was a bit mushy on the bottom, even after letting it set-up for hours. The next day we ate it without the sauce- it was boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
THIS RECIPE MADE ME SICK!...Only because I ATE ALMOST THE ENTIRE PAN MYSELF!!! This is one of those warm, comforting, delicious desserts that makes you feel oh so good when it seems like the world is against you! I used about 3/4 of a loaf of day old french bread and added raisins. You could almost drink the sauce because it is so yummy. I also cooked it for about an hour and a half to ensure it wouldn't be too mushy. Thank You Missy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This one just isn't a thrill. It's sort of an egg custard with bread, and not a whole lot of snap. If you're looking for a basic recipe, this may be it. But plan on a disappointment if you're wanting a lot of flavor. And while the sauce is nice, I suggest you use half white and half brown sugar, and add some bourbon or brandy, as it needs some flavor, too! Personally, I'll be searching for another recipe, one with more of a wow-effect. If you choose to make this anyway, DON"T judge it immediately after it comes from the oven. Allow it to cool and "set up," or it will be too wet, like some other reviewers must have discovered. Egg custard directly from the oven needs time to cool, and so does this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
this was my first time trying to make bread pudding. i was looking for a recipe like my bf's grandmother makes and although this isn't it exactly its pretty close. i heard that you should use stale bread but i got over excited and i used a new loaf of orowheat cinammon raisin bread so decided to let the bread soak a little longer than 5 min. i think i'll add more raisins next time (so yes i'll be making it again). my mom said that she liked it when it was more bready (but that didn't stop her from eating it!) my sister loved it and she doesn't like bread pudding she even asked me for the recipe. now the sauce....my sister came home from work one day and went straight to the fridge looking for the left over sauce so she could have it with berries, said she'd been dreaming about it all day the next day she tried to do the same thing but was devastated to find that the sauce was all gone. oh yeah, i served the sauce on the side and cut 1/4 c sugar out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States