Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made bread pudding, but I've always enjoyed it. This was a great basic recipe. I used a cinnimon apple raisin bread so I cut back on the sugar a bit I also added some extra cinnamon and rasins. I served with an apricot sauce and fresh whipped cream...Delicious! Next time, and there will be a next time! I am going to try the sauce because that sunds really yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is very good! I added 3 more cups of bread, used half and half instead of heavy cream, and used less than a half cup of sugar for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Awesome and yummy! There was a lot of sauce... so I recommend serving the sauce after each piece has been placed on a plate so that each individual can decide how much they want. (If you are eating it right away, which really is when it tastes the best). I added more vanilla. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Absolutely fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is good bread pudding, if you like it soft and custardy. I found it tasted better after it sat and cooled down to room temp. The sauce was too sweet for us, but it wouldn't be nearly as good a recipe without the sauce. Next time I'll just adjust the sugar somewhat. I also found I had to increase the bread somewhat. I added a handful of raisins to the pudding too. It was yummy, just not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I used 4 cups of day old white bread instead of 3 (as suggested by others, I didn't want it to turn out too soupy) I also added cinnamon and nutmeg (I didn't measure, just generously shaked both into the bowl)I put the batter in a well-buttered 8x8 glass dish and baked at about 325 for a little over an hour w/out the bath method. This came out fantastic! It's the first time I have ever made bread pudding, my guests at Thanksgiving raved over this. Next time I will definitley make sure to have some french vanilla ice cream on hand to pair with this. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I made this today for my boss and myself, and we both loved it! I used cinnamon swirled wheat bread and added raisins, so it was just a touch too sweet for us (even me, and I have an incredible sweet tooth!), so next time I will definitely cut down on the sugar a little. Still, a very delicious, satisfyingly old-fashioned dessert, one that I will be making again and again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SylviaRebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I am always asked to make this again...there is never enough! I used 5 cups fresh french bread, cut out one of the eggs, and did what an earlier reviewer suggested: use half brown sugar and half white sugar, and I used half milk and half cream. I also sprinkled some raisins on top as an after thought. It turned out great because the people who don't eat raisins can just pick them off instead of digging for them. I used a regular 8x13 brownie pan on just my oven rack, no water bath, reduced the temp and baked for well over an hour. (If I even get a hint of egg taste, I won't eat it...this doesn't taste like eggs.)Marvelous recipe! I always bake it when the kids are sleeping and hide it so I don't have to share. I'm greedy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe was great, but I made a few changes based on the reviews I read. I, like others, added 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp nutmeg and 1/2c raisins to the mixture. I also used 5c bread instead of 3. Instead of whole milk I used 3c. 1% milk (scalded) and 1c.of heavy cream. I let the bread soak into the mixture for 45minutes. I placed the dish in the oven for about 45 in 350 (no water bath). It was to die for!!! This recipe was great, but I made a few changes based on the reviews I read. I, like others, added 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp nutmeg and 1/2c raisins to the mixture. Instead of whole milk I used 3c 1%milk (scalded) and 1c.of heavy cream. I let the bread soak into the mixture for 45minutes. I placed the dish in the oven for about 45 in 350 (no water bath). It was to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Took it to a potluck. People thought it was 'nice' but no one thought it was special. I thought it was just ok as well. MAY make it again if I feel a craving for bread and butter pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States