Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
First time was a success. It lasted 1.5 days. I added more bread initially and probably will this time also. Definitely going to reduce milk by 1/2 cup and omit water all together and just reduce baking temperature. I was impressed with it over all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I really liked the sauce... but the texture of the bread pudding threw me off. I liked the flavor, but my grandma's bread pudding was what I was expecting and the "custard" layer on the bottom of this was strange. I might make it again someday, not sure at this point though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I used cinnamon bread and it turned out very sweet. I didn't make the sauce because the kids loved it as is. Next time I will make the sauce, just to try it. I used 2 tsp of vanilla and lots of pum pkin pie spice. Delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Delicious! We loved the pudding. The sauce was VERY sweet. I did add nutmeg, and that helped, but next time, I will just double every ingredient except sugar, so I get more sauce, but less sweet. I ended up with to much pudding mix to fit in an 8x8 pan- the rest fit easily into a loaf pan. The water bath method worked really well, and gave the pudding a lovely custard consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was the first time I have ever made bread pudding, but I've always enjoyed it. This was a great basic recipe. I used a cinnimon apple raisin bread so I cut back on the sugar a bit I also added some extra cinnamon and rasins. I served with an apricot sauce and fresh whipped cream...Delicious! Next time, and there will be a next time! I am going to try the sauce because that sunds really yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIENNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is very good! I added 3 more cups of bread, used half and half instead of heavy cream, and used less than a half cup of sugar for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Awesome and yummy! There was a lot of sauce... so I recommend serving the sauce after each piece has been placed on a plate so that each individual can decide how much they want. (If you are eating it right away, which really is when it tastes the best). I added more vanilla. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Absolutely fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is good bread pudding, if you like it soft and custardy. I found it tasted better after it sat and cooled down to room temp. The sauce was too sweet for us, but it wouldn't be nearly as good a recipe without the sauce. Next time I'll just adjust the sugar somewhat. I also found I had to increase the bread somewhat. I added a handful of raisins to the pudding too. It was yummy, just not perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I used 4 cups of day old white bread instead of 3 (as suggested by others, I didn't want it to turn out too soupy) I also added cinnamon and nutmeg (I didn't measure, just generously shaked both into the bowl)I put the batter in a well-buttered 8x8 glass dish and baked at about 325 for a little over an hour w/out the bath method. This came out fantastic! It's the first time I have ever made bread pudding, my guests at Thanksgiving raved over this. Next time I will definitley make sure to have some french vanilla ice cream on hand to pair with this. A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States