Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I added about a cup of slivered almonds for texture and to cut through the sweetness, I also added a tsp of ground cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of ground nutmeg. With all of these changes, it's a five-star recipe in my book. tip: evaporated milk instead of the cream works equally well, with half the calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I used The breadcrumbs from my accidental Woopsie when making French toast and I burnt the bread. I simply cut up the pieces and put them on a baking rack for about 30 minutes at 3:25. made perfectly already seasoned breadcrumbs ready to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I had baked a new recipe of Banana Nut Bread that turned out dry. My husband suggested I make Bread Pudding with it so it didn't go to waste. It was a great idea! I used the Banana Nut Bread instead of the bread with all other ingredients the same. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
We tried this recipe on new years day and enjoyed it a lot! For the bread, we used a panettone that someone had given us for Christmas, and it was perfect because it already had the raisins and other dried fruits in it. We sliced the bread instead of cubing it and layered it in an 8 x 13 glass baking dish. Because the bread was already quite sweet, we only 4 tbsp of sugar. I followed other reviewers advice and also used less eggs (3 instead of 4). It was a perfect new years day treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I looked at a number of recipes and did not read any of the reviews! The bread pudding itself was out of this world. Delicious, yummy and delectable. How many ways can one say "yummy"? I made the pudding according to the recipe. What brought me to even consider making bread pudding, a usual scourge of foodies as am I, was that I had a bunch of French bread in my freezer a bit longer than usual and I just thought that a bread pudding would be a way to salvage it. Well, the pudding was perfect. For my "sauce," I just followed a whipped cream recipe and lightly whipped the cream so that I could pour it on the hot bread pudding. It was, indeed, to die for. My dear friend also loves it and it was her first time ever having bread pudding. Oh, I also live in Viet Nam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anyse Joslin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Mine looked great just like the one in the picture, but the bottom was basically saccharine scrambled egg mush, which was pretty gross. I salvaged the top which wasn't too bad, but this recipe needs some pretty heavy modification if it's going to turn out right. Less eggs, more bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I didn't have enough milk and tried a crazy mixture....I had powdered coffee mate (vanilla caramel) and mixed it with water. This with the two cups of milk I had turned out great! Since it was already flavored, I didn't use any additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Luvgod is wrong. This is absolutely THE best bread pudding recipe I've ever made or had. the only change I made was I added a dash of Nutmeg. I didn't make the sauce. I got lazy and pulled some caramel ice cream topping out of my frig and added Capt Morgan rum. heated it a bit and mixed the rum with a whisk. YUMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe. I will add maybe some cinnamon and some nutmeg to the next try, but this is an excellent basic recipe!! I have experimented with a little less sugar in the pudding itself and it worked really well. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried this twice and it didn't turn out. I cooked it longer as suggested, added more bread the second time with additional cooking time again. Didn't help. What could I have done wrong? I really want to make this dessert for my boyfriend as it is his favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nettles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States