Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
Fixed this recipe for a Mardi Gras party and it was a big hit. Works fine with canned peaches as well. Also used brown sugar in the sauce for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Consider cutting the sauce in 1/4 unless you like your pudding literally swimming in it. I think I only used about 1/4 cup for the entire pudding...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Excellent and easy recipe to make. I followed the other users suggestions and I made only half the sauce. For me, certainly plenty - but definitely easy enough to make a second half batch with the leftovers (if there are any!) if we need it. I too used canned peaches and only half the apples since we only had 2 left - but it was my first try making bread pudding and sure won't be my last. Thanks Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenshaw, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
This recipe is *fabulous*!!! I made it for a dinner party, and my guests could not stop raving about it. Also, the recipe can be made "healthier" without sacrificing the taste by substituting the butter for a low-fat butter substitute and the sugar with a sugar substitute. I've made both versions and cannot tell the difference between the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creole Miss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I gave this 5 stars even though I didn't thing it was outstanding. Now the sauce was outstanding and this made the dessert!!! I made this for x-mas, and everyone seemed to enjoy it, but I think I'll keep searching for another bread pudding. Please note that I used half a challah bread (10-12 oz), and it fit perfectly in the 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This was pretty good! I did think that the flavor was a little eggy and it was a little to soggy for me...maybe next time I will take out one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Best Best Best Bread pudding I have even eaten. I added 1/2 cup rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Did it twice, my family loved it, once with canned peaches and the second time with canned apples.The canned apples turned out the best for me.It will be a staple in my dessert file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This bread pudding is REALLY good. With my cajun heritage and many travels to Louisianna, I've had a chance to taste the best. This ranks among the best I've tasted. Substitute milk for heavy cream or half & half for a richer pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The whiskey sauce alone is worth making this recipe. I want to put it on everything. It would be insanely delicious on pancakes and/or waffles, methinks. Otherwise, the bread pudding was terrific as well. It's a simple recipe and quick to prepare. This is a hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States