Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent bread pudding. I used canned peaches as others did and 2 apples that I cooked on the stove a little before I added them - just to make sure they wouldn't be crunchy. I'll definitely be making this again. My daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Substituted apple cinnamon schnapps (which I discovered while looking for the whiskey which I didn't have). And served the whole thing with vanilla ice cream. A hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This is the perfect bread pudding. I used fresh fruit, which was a pain to clean up, but worth the effort. Also halved the sauce, as suggested by other reviewers. I will be making this again (and again and again) exactly the same way. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Really good! We halved it and needed to substitute in peaches and pears, pumpkin spice for nutmeg, and heavy cream for whole milk. We also made a quarter of the whiskey sauce -- note: do not store the whiskey sauce in tupperware and reheat it in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I served this to 24 people (increased the amounts of course). Everyone had seconds and love it. However, I substituted peach schnapps instead of whiskey and added some peach schnapps to the pudding and reduced the milk accordingly. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was sensational! Next time I will add more fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Good stuff! I made a few changes like used 5 peaches, 1 apple, and a handful of raisins. I cut out 1/4 cup of the milk, I substituted half the sugar for Splenda, and I used lemon sauce instead of Whiskey sauce. It shows how versatile this recipe is...it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I had to make a couple of modifications, as I was making this the same day I needed to serve it. I diced the bread, then spread it on baking sheets and toasted it in the oven at 300* for about 10-15 minutes. I used peaches from a jar, because they are not in season in my area. I cooked the apples in a pot on low for about 15 minutes with a pinch of cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg. I also used half-and-half on the recommendation of another reviewer. The whiskey sauce is the crowning glory of this recipe. It is well-balanced, delicious, and great also on apple crisp! The recipe was easy to follow and I received glowing compliments on the dish. This is a wonderful alternate to pie this holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
The whiskey sauce alone is worth making this recipe. I want to put it on everything. It would be insanely delicious on pancakes and/or waffles, methinks. Otherwise, the bread pudding was terrific as well. It's a simple recipe and quick to prepare. This is a hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This bread pudding is REALLY good. With my cajun heritage and many travels to Louisianna, I've had a chance to taste the best. This ranks among the best I've tasted. Substitute milk for heavy cream or half & half for a richer pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States