Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Mmmm!!! This was great! I followed the suggestion of turning up the oven to 350 degrees, and I took it out after 50 minutes. It still looked very wet, and I was worried that it wouldn't be done, but it was perfect after it sat a few minutes. I also increased the cinnamon to 1 tablespoon - personal preference. I think I found the trick to the sauce. Instead of just heating it until it was blended, I tried to get the sugar to dissolve so it would be clear. It never was clear, but it was a little bubbly. Then when I added the rum (didn't have whiskey), the sauce bubbled a lot. I think it burned off the alcohol, so it had a great rum flavor instead of too alcohol-y. It also got thicker as it cooled. Make sure you use great liquor - I used Appleton Estate V/X rum (highly recommended by reviewers of another recipe) that I bought especially for making a rum sauce. It was WONDERFUL! Half the sauce recipe unless you want to use it for something else. Also, since you add the rum at the end, start with half and add more if you like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Great Recipe! I did scale back the serving to half which made a 9x13 pan. I also cut back on the whiskey (way to much whiskey)and I added more cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added chopped pecans to my rum sauce. Next time I will add some drained, crushed pineapple to the bread.It does take longer than an hour to cook though. Thanks for the wonderful recipe and making me look like a pro chef! I will definitely make this again! ps. I forgot to add that cooking this in a hot bath (a pan with hot water) will cook faster and more even. You will not be left with the gooey parts in spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Excellent!!! One of the best I've come across.Made the whiskey sauce using Bourbon and it received the highest raves. Used french bread. Of restaurant quality...many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Wonderful Recipe!! I was looking for a recipe similar to a bread pudding that I had at a fancy place in Monroe, LA. My husband and I both thought that this recipe was actually better. The sauce is wonderful! I did use rum rather than whiskey, though. I also cut the sauce recipe in half and it was more than enough. I poured the entire batch of sauce over the bread pudding when it first came out of the oven to let it soak into the pudding. I used a loaf of white bread and left the crust on. I used a 9 x 11" glass pan and it did rise to about an inch above the top, but settled upon cooling to be almost level with the top of the pan. The only change that I made was that I increased the cooking temperature to 350 and I cooked it for 60 minutes. It came out very moist and was a wonderful texture. I'll be cooking this one next time I want to show off for a family gathering. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I have been experimenting with Bread Pudding recipes for YEARS! Finally I have found the perfect Bread Pudding and whiskey sauce creation. Thank you for sharing this! Ande in CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
All Gone! ;-) A Winner! I've had my eye on this recipe for awhile now and decided to make this last minute when I found out my Mother-in-Law made pumpkin pie for Christmas dessert. I had no intention to compete with her dessert, just that Hubby hates pumpkin pie. *NOTE:> Made a half recipe in a loaf pan.* I thought the recipe was a bit wet; I used very dry French bread and raised the oven temp like the others to 325 for at least 60 minutes. Threw in a half of a Gala apple and some raisins; also added a little All Spice. The bread pudding fluffed up nice and not dry at all. Next time I make this, I'm going to try half & half and cut the liquid a little. The sauce was lovely and smooth. Totally FAB! For the sauce, I used "1792" bourbon instead of whiskey. When I finally tried it (at my Mother-in-Laws), I thought it needed more liquor and couldn't understand the other reviewers fuss about the sauce being kinda strong. When I got home, I discovered I accidentally grabbed the 1/3 cup, instead of the 1/2 cup measure. I'm going to make sure I use more next time, but a 1/3 cup was tasty and subtle for those who want a lighter flavor. In the end, it was all gone; even my Mother-in-Law opted for my dessert over hers. I was then delegated to make next years Christmas bread pudding and asked to think about making extra sauce offering a couple different flavors... some that come to mind. Malibu Coconut Rum, Sailor Jerry Spiced Rum, Brandy and maybe Chambord? but cut the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penoir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I usually try a recipe first before making changes and trying to 'improve' on what I have yet to try in the first place. On this one I followed it to a tee. It came out excellent. Very rich - and yes, the whiskey was a bit strong, but the bite of it countered the sweetness of the bread pudding. I think it worked. There was a lot - was able to feed my husband and I, my brother, my parents, and still have enough left over for 2nds and 3rds. My only suggestion would be to 1/2 it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This recipe is marvelous! I used torn French Bread and oh, what a difference! Wonderful flavor! I added Allspice and doubled the Golden raisins. Be careful, though, if you use rum instead of whiskey in the sauce. One-half cup of rum is way too much! Rum was all I had on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is a very good bread pudding and I made it exactly as written. I used bread I made using the Fabulous French Loaves recipe. The texture was just right--moist but not runny, and a little crisp on the top and sides. I loved the sauce and I think the sharpness of the whiskey provides a nice contrast to the sweetness of the bread pudding. The sauce takes it from being a good bread pudding to being an excellent one. Only thing of note was that I had to bake it for an hour before it was set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Great recipe! Eating it right now! We followed the directions exactly but cooked for 1hr 20 minutes. Probably could have stood another 15 minutes. We used 1/2 cup Southern Comfort in the sauce. Outstanding! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States