Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Best Bread pudding I ever had! Loved the amaretto addition instead of whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is the best Bread Pudding! I have been making it for several years & is always a favorite. I do add more cinnamon & bake this for about 1-1/2 hrs... until the center puffs (you'll see what I mean when you bake it). For the sauce, I add 1/2 the whiskey...just want the flavor. It's great the 1st time, but even better re-heated as leftovers! Thanks for such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I didn't make the bread pudding portion of this recipe as I already had a bread pudding. I only made the sauce as I was specifically looking for a whiskey sauce to use up what I had on hand. I halved the recipe for the sauce but didn't take the recommendations to reduce the whiskey by half again. I absolutely should have. This sauce smelled like the worst drunk and tasted about as bad. There was WAY TOO MUCH whiskey for the rest of the ingredients. If making a full batch of the sauce, definitely reduce the whiskey by half. The texture was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Good. I think it needs more cinnamon. I made ahead and let it soak. Removed from fridge and placed in oven while preheating. i Baked it for almost 1:45. The last 15 minutes i covered because it was starting to brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This turned out delicious! As others I increased the cooking temp to 325 and the time to 1 hr and 15 minutes. I added to the recipe a 1/2 cup of nuts (walnuts this time, will try pecans another time) and a 1/4 cup of rum to the custard mix so the bread would have the rum taste baked in as well as pouring the rum sauce over the pudding. I chose rum as it is sweeter in taste and goes well with the pudding. I also served it with a bit of whipped cream to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is the best bread pudding I've ever tasted!! Left the recipe the same but upped the cinnamon to almost 2 T. Upped the temp to 350 and baked for an hour. Actually split the sauce into two bowls and made one with whiskey and one with Amaretto. They were fantastic!! The Amaretto was extremely sweet but still had a good flavor. Will certainly make this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I make this often -- fave bread pudding. I use day-old cinnamon bread. I wanted a non-alcoholic version, so I substitute a boiled custard sauce instead of the whiskey sauce. Makes it even richer, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
was simple and delicious - I used up dinner rolls from Thanksgiving dinner, reduced serving size to 6 and used Amaretto instead of whiskey. Make sure the sugar is dissolved in sauce before adding liquor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have found some some really good recipes on this site...but this one, hands down, is my Favorite. I decided to make bread pudding for Thanksgiving instead of the usual pies. We moved from New Orleans and miss the great food there, bread pudding is one of their staples, so I have had my share of great bread pudding. And this just may be better than any I have had. I made it the night before and put it in the fridge overnight so it would be cold (the only way I like it). Also, I was running low on cinnamon, I had about 3/4 a tbsp, so I added about 3/4 tsp nutmeg also. We made the sauce, which was perfect, right before dessert so it would be hot. The recipe didn't specify what type of corn syrup, so I used dark. That's how I recommend bread pudding...cold with warm sauce. Thanks So much for sharing, this recipe made Thanksgiving complete. I will make this Every single Thanksgiving, for ever probably! From now on, if we have a turkey, we have this bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I get rave reviews with this recipe! The last 2 times I made this, I used a whole wheat cranberry walnut bread that I let get stale. I added a medium peeled and finely diced apple and a some extra dried cranberries. I put the bread in my large oval crock pot and pour the custard mixture over top a good 1/2 hour before baking. gently fold a few times to ensure the custard mixture coats ALL of the bread cubes! then add the cranberries and apple and cook on high for and hour, then down to low for 3-4 hours. With the denser bread, it did take closer to 4, but i started early and left it on keep warm when it finished. Used spiced rum for the sauce. Love using my slow cooker for dessert so it's warm and ready after dinner and keeps my oven freed up! In addition....just in case it isn't crazy rich enough, I found a great way to use the leftovers. I sliced the pudding with a sharp knife while it was cold and dipped in egg wash and made french toast the next morning for breakfast with the leftover syrup. It was ridiculously delicious and kept us full forever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connorsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States